Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Try topping it with this creamy, sweet, tangy dressing. Mix together: 8-oz softened cream cheese, 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1/2 teas vanilla extract. After taking this to dozens of gatherings, I now bring preprinted recipe cards with me for the onslaught of requests I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was a welome sight at our Thanksgiving table, only 2 of the 12 there actually like cranberry sauce - but everyone liked this, several guests took seconds and my husband said - Honey! This is good! I did not add the pecans. And I reserved the juice from the cherries, added water to make 2 cups and heated this up to dissolve the jello. Next time I may try the cranberry jello instead of the cherry. But at any rate, this will become a traditional holiday dish in our house! 2006: Now I've made this over again with some successful changes: I used whole cranberry sauce and like another reviewer used an additional package of unsweetened gelatin. I skipped the whole cherries since I had the whole cranberries. It turned out yummy as before. Now this Thanksgiving I am trying the cran-raspberry flavored jello instead of the cherry to give it more cranberry taste. We'll see if it's consumed as rapidly as before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Did I miss something? I thought this would be like jello - and set in a mold. Instead it was a runny mess...and I followed the recipe exactly. I would try more jello packets or less water - this didn't set at all! Don't think I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was very tasty, but also very sweet. I will make this again, but next time I will add more water & unflavored gelatin to keep the consistency. (It solidified great, as long as you add 6 ounces of jello not 3 like in the small boxes) I also topped it with a blend of 1 cup softened cream cheese, 1 cup plain yogurt, 3/4 cup sugar & a dash of vanilla. Cranberry haters did like it - never even knew they were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
A welcome addition to my Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
If you plan on preparing this dish to contribute to a potluck or family meal - double it! Everyone loves it, and the dish is empty before you know it! I normally omit the nuts, for allergy reasons - you don't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe is always a hit. Even my grandmother asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Absolute the most delicious gelatin salad ever! My family likes this one so much that I usually have to make it twice over Thanksgiving weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I made this for my family Thanksgiving. There were many requests for its return for our family Christmas. Though I did not use the pecans. Everybody loved it even the kids!& non cranberry lovers. All asked for the recipe. Great job Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Enjoyed by all at our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States