Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Try topping it with this creamy, sweet, tangy dressing. Mix together: 8-oz softened cream cheese, 1 cup sour cream, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1/2 teas vanilla extract. After taking this to dozens of gatherings, I now bring preprinted recipe cards with me for the onslaught of requests I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was a welome sight at our Thanksgiving table, only 2 of the 12 there actually like cranberry sauce - but everyone liked this, several guests took seconds and my husband said - Honey! This is good! I did not add the pecans. And I reserved the juice from the cherries, added water to make 2 cups and heated this up to dissolve the jello. Next time I may try the cranberry jello instead of the cherry. But at any rate, this will become a traditional holiday dish in our house! 2006: Now I've made this over again with some successful changes: I used whole cranberry sauce and like another reviewer used an additional package of unsweetened gelatin. I skipped the whole cherries since I had the whole cranberries. It turned out yummy as before. Now this Thanksgiving I am trying the cran-raspberry flavored jello instead of the cherry to give it more cranberry taste. We'll see if it's consumed as rapidly as before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Did I miss something? I thought this would be like jello - and set in a mold. Instead it was a runny mess...and I followed the recipe exactly. I would try more jello packets or less water - this didn't set at all! Don't think I will be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was very tasty, but also very sweet. I will make this again, but next time I will add more water & unflavored gelatin to keep the consistency. (It solidified great, as long as you add 6 ounces of jello not 3 like in the small boxes) I also topped it with a blend of 1 cup softened cream cheese, 1 cup plain yogurt, 3/4 cup sugar & a dash of vanilla. Cranberry haters did like it - never even knew they were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
A welcome addition to my Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Absolute the most delicious gelatin salad ever! My family likes this one so much that I usually have to make it twice over Thanksgiving weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
If you plan on preparing this dish to contribute to a potluck or family meal - double it! Everyone loves it, and the dish is empty before you know it! I normally omit the nuts, for allergy reasons - you don't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe is always a hit. Even my grandmother asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I made this for my family Thanksgiving. There were many requests for its return for our family Christmas. Though I did not use the pecans. Everybody loved it even the kids!& non cranberry lovers. All asked for the recipe. Great job Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Enjoyed by all at our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States