Cranberry Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a "must have" at Thanksgiving. I've found that gently swirling in a cup of sour cream when the gelatin is almost set makes for a lovely marbled effect, and adds a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I got rave reviews at Thanksgiving when I brought this to my inlaws house! The only changes that I made were to use cranberry jello in place of cherry and to use WHOLE berry cranberry sauce instead of jellied. I also omitted the nuts totally to make it more kid friendly and it didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
I love this salad!! I think I have made it before, but had lost the recipe. It is very rich. I mixed the pecans in instead of putting them on top. It was very quick and easy. Thanks to Laura for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph T.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
An absolute hit at Thanksgiving! My apprehensive dad even raved about it. Super easy and quick to make. Perfect for taking to a potluck, too. Don't omit the nuts as some other reviewers suggest...they really balance the tastes in this salad. If someone doesn't like nuts, they can always take a scoop from the bottom instead of the top (where the pecans are).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This salad was soooo good. A great addition to our meal. I did not have sugar free gelatin so I used regular Jello, still wonderful...the kids really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I've made this dish for Thanksgiving and Christmas 2003, but I left out the pecans. Both adults and children loved it! It goes really well with turkey (or chicken) since there's a good balance of sweetness and tartness. My 2yr. old likes to eat it as dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I love this cranberry gelatin salad! I made this for my family's Thanksgiving dinner this year, and even people that usually won't touch cranberry sauce couldn't get enough. I highly recommend using the whole berry sauce in place of the jellied... the berries add a certain something special to the contrast. Also, rather than simply sprinkling the pecans on top of the salad, I mixed them in well with the rest of ingredients to get a little in each bite.. delicious! Be sure to get as much of the juice out of the pineapple as possible, you won't be disappointed with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Awesome. Made for a potluck while in Korea and it was the biggest hit. The local Koreans loved it as well as the Americans! I did not have pecans so used walnuts. Came out OK. In my opinion, leave out the nuts altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Too much cherry flavor. Next time I would use 1 pkg Jello (or 2 cans cranberry)... depending on servings needed. The pineapples and pecans were perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Wonderful!! I took it to a family dinner and even the children who won't eat pineapple or cranberry sauce loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States