Cranberry Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Great addition for Turkey-Day. I was given a close 2nd to my Grandmas recipe, may she RIP. I was asked 3 times for this recipe. So I give it high remarks. The nuts were worth adding, I made them really fine before sprinkling so they didn't make to much of a crunch for a jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very refreshing and yummie. I used the ocean spray cranberry sauce with whole berries instead of the jellied cranberries. Would be really good in the summer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This salad is a wonderful change of pace! It was gobbled up in seconds. I wasn't sure if the cranberry sauce was supposed to melt completely so it was left a little chunky as the gelatin had cooled already. Ditto w/the sour cream. It was more of a glob than a streaming ribbon. The flavor, however, was wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a disappointment. I definitely think if I ever made this again I would use whole and not jellied cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I love this cranberry gelatin salad! I made this for my family's Thanksgiving dinner this year, and even people that usually won't touch cranberry sauce couldn't get enough. I highly recommend using the whole berry sauce in place of the jellied... the berries add a certain something special to the contrast. Also, rather than simply sprinkling the pecans on top of the salad, I mixed them in well with the rest of ingredients to get a little in each bite.. delicious! Be sure to get as much of the juice out of the pineapple as possible, you won't be disappointed with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have made this salad for years and it's always a hit. I now use one 3 oz pkg cherry or raspberry jello and 1 3 oz pkg cranberry jello, and instead of 2 cups water I use 1 1/2 cups water and 1/2 cup red wine, any old red wine will do. And my family loves lots of pecans so I double the pecans and let them jell in the salad. If we're taking this to a potluck or holiday dinner away from home, I have to make two - one to keep at home and one to take!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancotten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This salad is wonderful. I did some additions: I skinned some apples, threw those and whole cranberries in the food processor, pulsing them small. I added those to the jello mixture before chilling it. You could also add walnuts. I serve with whipped cream on the side. Mixing it in your serving is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I threw in a cup of chopped crisp apple and it added a nice crunch! Thanks for a fun, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was wonderful! I used raspberry jello instead of cheery which gave it a wonderful flavor. I also made sure and got the cranberry sauce with whole cranberries in it. Then I used the juice out of the pineapples instead of water. You still have to put about a cup of watter in. Wonderful for Thanksgiving. I couldn't get it to mold very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a simple recipe that is really great. For a nice change, substitute a container of Ocean Spray Cran-Fruit rather than using cranberry sauce. Gives a much better flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States