Cranberry Eggnog Cornbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are delicious scones. I like the slight crunch that the cornmeal gives them. I baked it as one large round scone rather than cutting into smaller scones and just increased the baking time slightly. The eggnog flavour is very subtle, so if you are looking for the eggnog flavour you might want to add some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is a fast and delicious recipe that Hubby and I just love! Sometimes I substitute currants, sometimes use plain milk instead of egg nog, but they're always yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very nice. I had some eggnog that was getting over the hill and wanted to use it up. This looked like a wonderfully different and elegant recipe. I added 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg to help bring out the eggnog flavor (and because I love nutmeg). I ended up adding more eggnog to make the dough stick together. I made an eggnog-rum glaze to drizzle on top: I combined 1 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 tsp. corn syrup, 1/2 tsp. rum flavoring, 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar and 2 Tbsp. eggnog (add more or less eggnog to get the correct drizzling consistency). I then just put the glaze in a baggie, snipped off the corner and drizzled in a zig-zag pattern, letting the glaze run over the edges of the scones. Delish! Especially served warm with a nice cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very easy recipe, tasted really good. The eggnog taste is subtle not in your face. The round ones looked a little to perfect thought (like inexpensive canned biscuits) , so I cut the second batch into triangles, they looked much better that way. Im giving them as holiday gifts to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were fabulous! Easy to make and even BETTER to eat. Mmmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These were a huge hit at a brunch I hosted. I kept them warm by using a warming plate, and the next time I might take one viewers suggestion and add a few eggnog spices for that extra flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yum! I made these with the listed ingredients and they were great. Instead of making round scones, I cut the patted out round into 8 wedges (personal preference for wedge shaped scones!). After reading comments about the eggnog flavor being very subtle, I also brushed them with a little eggnog and sprinkled them lightly with sugar and freshly-grated nutmeg before baking ... that little extra glaze adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I halved the recipe and used corn muffin mix, rather than just cornmeal. These were simple to make (once I got past rubbing in the butter. I'm a bit of a novice at pastries.) and turned out wonderfully. The flavor is light, they're not too dry and certainly not tough. Will make again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I used maraschino cherries instead of craisins. These were easy to make. They had a great eggnog taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We really liked these scones. The flavor from the eggnog was not overpowering, but you definitely got enough of the flavor to put you in the holiday mood. The cornmeal also adds an interesting flavor and texture that we liked a lot. This makes a great holiday breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States