Cranberry Eggnog Cornbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
very good. a little dry and crumbly from the cornmeal, but very good with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used dried cherries instead of the cranberries. I also made an eggnog glaze for the topping. This was so good. Christmassy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We really liked these scones. The flavor from the eggnog was not overpowering, but you definitely got enough of the flavor to put you in the holiday mood. The cornmeal also adds an interesting flavor and texture that we liked a lot. This makes a great holiday breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Photo by Candace Gallagher
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yum! I made these with the listed ingredients and they were great. Instead of making round scones, I cut the patted out round into 8 wedges (personal preference for wedge shaped scones!). After reading comments about the eggnog flavor being very subtle, I also brushed them with a little eggnog and sprinkled them lightly with sugar and freshly-grated nutmeg before baking ... that little extra glaze adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very nice. I had some eggnog that was getting over the hill and wanted to use it up. This looked like a wonderfully different and elegant recipe. I added 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg to help bring out the eggnog flavor (and because I love nutmeg). I ended up adding more eggnog to make the dough stick together. I made an eggnog-rum glaze to drizzle on top: I combined 1 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 tsp. corn syrup, 1/2 tsp. rum flavoring, 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar and 2 Tbsp. eggnog (add more or less eggnog to get the correct drizzling consistency). I then just put the glaze in a baggie, snipped off the corner and drizzled in a zig-zag pattern, letting the glaze run over the edges of the scones. Delish! Especially served warm with a nice cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are delicious! I would love to make these over and over and over again. They were super simple and much more delicious than I even imagined! This is a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made these this last week...the night my second daughter was born! :) I didn't have eggnog so I substituted milk with a bit of nutmeg and vanilla extract added to it. I thought the scones were slightly dry but they still tasted very good. I used blueberry infused dried cranberries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I didn't have eggnog but used sour cream that I had on hand and they came out very nicely. Initially a little sticky but they shaped up well as I kneaded them a few times on a floured board, and they were easy to transfer to the baking sheet. I liked this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great and simple recipe. the result is not too sweet, and delicate. great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States