Cranberry Eggnog Cornbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Candace
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yum! I made these with the listed ingredients and they were great. Instead of making round scones, I cut the patted out round into 8 wedges (personal preference for wedge shaped scones!). After reading comments about the eggnog flavor being very subtle, I also brushed them with a little eggnog and sprinkled them lightly with sugar and freshly-grated nutmeg before baking ... that little extra glaze adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very nice. I had some eggnog that was getting over the hill and wanted to use it up. This looked like a wonderfully different and elegant recipe. I added 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg to help bring out the eggnog flavor (and because I love nutmeg). I ended up adding more eggnog to make the dough stick together. I made an eggnog-rum glaze to drizzle on top: I combined 1 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 tsp. corn syrup, 1/2 tsp. rum flavoring, 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar and 2 Tbsp. eggnog (add more or less eggnog to get the correct drizzling consistency). I then just put the glaze in a baggie, snipped off the corner and drizzled in a zig-zag pattern, letting the glaze run over the edges of the scones. Delish! Especially served warm with a nice cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are delicious! I would love to make these over and over and over again. They were super simple and much more delicious than I even imagined! This is a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made these this last week...the night my second daughter was born! :) I didn't have eggnog so I substituted milk with a bit of nutmeg and vanilla extract added to it. I thought the scones were slightly dry but they still tasted very good. I used blueberry infused dried cranberries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I didn't have eggnog but used sour cream that I had on hand and they came out very nicely. Initially a little sticky but they shaped up well as I kneaded them a few times on a floured board, and they were easy to transfer to the baking sheet. I liked this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great and simple recipe. the result is not too sweet, and delicate. great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These exceeded my expectations. I made a few adjustments and they came out really good. Replaced butter with applesauce Used whole wheat flour Used Soymilk eggnog, a little bit more than 2/3 cup until all flour was no longer dry. They were nice and fluffy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These tasted okay but, for some reason, mine didn't rise at all. I followed the recipe exact so not sure what went wrong. More like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used cornmeal mix in place of cornmeal. They tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States