Cranberry Eggnog Cornbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Candace Gallagher
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yum! I made these with the listed ingredients and they were great. Instead of making round scones, I cut the patted out round into 8 wedges (personal preference for wedge shaped scones!). After reading comments about the eggnog flavor being very subtle, I also brushed them with a little eggnog and sprinkled them lightly with sugar and freshly-grated nutmeg before baking ... that little extra glaze adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very nice. I had some eggnog that was getting over the hill and wanted to use it up. This looked like a wonderfully different and elegant recipe. I added 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg to help bring out the eggnog flavor (and because I love nutmeg). I ended up adding more eggnog to make the dough stick together. I made an eggnog-rum glaze to drizzle on top: I combined 1 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter, 1 tsp. corn syrup, 1/2 tsp. rum flavoring, 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar and 2 Tbsp. eggnog (add more or less eggnog to get the correct drizzling consistency). I then just put the glaze in a baggie, snipped off the corner and drizzled in a zig-zag pattern, letting the glaze run over the edges of the scones. Delish! Especially served warm with a nice cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are delicious! I would love to make these over and over and over again. They were super simple and much more delicious than I even imagined! This is a great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I made these this last week...the night my second daughter was born! :) I didn't have eggnog so I substituted milk with a bit of nutmeg and vanilla extract added to it. I thought the scones were slightly dry but they still tasted very good. I used blueberry infused dried cranberries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I didn't have eggnog but used sour cream that I had on hand and they came out very nicely. Initially a little sticky but they shaped up well as I kneaded them a few times on a floured board, and they were easy to transfer to the baking sheet. I liked this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great and simple recipe. the result is not too sweet, and delicate. great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These exceeded my expectations. I made a few adjustments and they came out really good. Replaced butter with applesauce Used whole wheat flour Used Soymilk eggnog, a little bit more than 2/3 cup until all flour was no longer dry. They were nice and fluffy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These tasted okay but, for some reason, mine didn't rise at all. I followed the recipe exact so not sure what went wrong. More like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used cornmeal mix in place of cornmeal. They tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States