Cranberry Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
First of all, I have to say, hey - cooking requires common sense, along with measuring cups and spoons, ingredients, etc. Let's not be soooo picky and simply ENJOY what people care to share with us! We must remember the reason for the season - and for the entire year while we're at it. This won rave reviews at my family party yesterday - and I made it just as it was stated. Perhaps I'll tweek it next time, but my husband and I always make a new recipe as it's written the first time - then we add/subtract to suit our tastes and needs. Merry Christmas, one and all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I would start by ignoring any reviewers that did not follow the directions and gave it less than 5 stars. The recipe clearly says to pour the sauce over the cream cheese so make sure you do that. The sauce is great as a dip with the cream cheese, or you can use it as a relish. Great recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I have to agree with Willow, if you completely change a recipe how can you rate it??? I followed the directions except I didn't have apricot jam so I used Peach jam that was on hand. I followed the directions and POURED the mixture over room temperature cream cheese. Severed it with crackers and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is a great addition to a Christmastime appetizer buffet, simple to make and pleasing to the eye. Easy and delicious, just what I'm looking forward when things are so busy. I'm also puzzled by reviewers who add their own twist or don't carefully read a recipe and then proceed to give a recipe a lower rating because of their mistake! Indeed the recipe "did not state when to add the cream cheese," however it DID say, "...pour dip over the block of cream cheese on a serving dish." At any rate, the recipe is a keeper as written - guests scarf it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really good, easy to do on the stove, takes about 10-15 minutes. 3/4 C sugar works well. I spread the softened cream cheese on a pie plate and pour mix over, more colorful than stirring it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have always loved cranberry sauce and never thought to do this. I'll use orange marmalade which is a wonderful complement to the cranberries. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I took this to a Christmas party last night with pretzels to dip it in, and got some rave reviews. However, I had made some changes to the recipe (due to time and lack of ingredients), and thought I would probably change some things in the future. I used dried cranberries, not fresh. I candied the cranberries and sugar in a pot on the stove, rather than in the oven. I added the jam to the pot, and then once that was mixed together, I added the cream cheese (the recipe didn't state when to add the cream cheese). It really changed the consistency and flavor of the cream cheese big time, and I ended up adding another 4 oz of it to give it a bit more of that flavor. I think in the future, I would still do the cranberries the same (but use probably 1/4 cup sugar), but let the mixture cool before adding the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this dip for a Holiday social at work. It was a huge hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I used walnuts instead of pecans and it was still great. Thanks, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anf1336

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is GREAT as a grilled cheese sandwich!!! Put between bread, outside buttered, and grill (pan fry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome! I used raspberry jam instead of apricot because that's what I had. Everyone LOVED it! I used two packages of cream cheese, softened, and spread into the bottom of a pretty pie pan. I've made it twice, once in the oven and once on the stove top. Both turned out great. The second time I reduced the sugar a bit, and it was still awesome. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States