Cranberry Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I took this to a Christmas party last night with pretzels to dip it in, and got some rave reviews. However, I had made some changes to the recipe (due to time and lack of ingredients), and thought I would probably change some things in the future. I used dried cranberries, not fresh. I candied the cranberries and sugar in a pot on the stove, rather than in the oven. I added the jam to the pot, and then once that was mixed together, I added the cream cheese (the recipe didn't state when to add the cream cheese). It really changed the consistency and flavor of the cream cheese big time, and I ended up adding another 4 oz of it to give it a bit more of that flavor. I think in the future, I would still do the cranberries the same (but use probably 1/4 cup sugar), but let the mixture cool before adding the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this dip for a Holiday social at work. It was a huge hit. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I used walnuts instead of pecans and it was still great. Thanks, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anf1336

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I have to agree with Willow, if you completely change a recipe how can you rate it??? I followed the directions except I didn't have apricot jam so I used Peach jam that was on hand. I followed the directions and POURED the mixture over room temperature cream cheese. Severed it with crackers and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have always loved cranberry sauce and never thought to do this. I'll use orange marmalade which is a wonderful complement to the cranberries. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe! I personally like reading all the variations that people do. That's what makes cooking fun - the ability to be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really good, easy to do on the stove, takes about 10-15 minutes. 3/4 C sugar works well. I spread the softened cream cheese on a pie plate and pour mix over, more colorful than stirring it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
What a great recipe, haven't tried it yet but will soon. I tend to agree that making the recipe as written the 1st time is a good idea, but having read the reviews will probably start with walnuts & orangemarmalade. For those of you who don't care to cook the cranberries a can of wholeberry cranberry sauce will probably work just as well. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is a great addition to a Christmastime appetizer buffet, simple to make and pleasing to the eye. Easy and delicious, just what I'm looking forward when things are so busy. I'm also puzzled by reviewers who add their own twist or don't carefully read a recipe and then proceed to give a recipe a lower rating because of their mistake! Indeed the recipe "did not state when to add the cream cheese," however it DID say, "...pour dip over the block of cream cheese on a serving dish." At any rate, the recipe is a keeper as written - guests scarf it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
First of all, I have to say, hey - cooking requires common sense, along with measuring cups and spoons, ingredients, etc. Let's not be soooo picky and simply ENJOY what people care to share with us! We must remember the reason for the season - and for the entire year while we're at it. This won rave reviews at my family party yesterday - and I made it just as it was stated. Perhaps I'll tweek it next time, but my husband and I always make a new recipe as it's written the first time - then we add/subtract to suit our tastes and needs. Merry Christmas, one and all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought this sounded so interesting, I had to try it. I got lots of positive comments at the party I took it to. We dipped pretzels, crackers and bagel pieces into it. It was a little hard to get it out with the bagels. But, I don't think I let it sit out of the fridge long enough to soften up. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States