Cranberry Crunch Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This is a good recipe with a few minor adjustments, reduce the butter to 1 1/2 sticks or 3/4 a cup, I reduced sugar to 1 2/3 cups and used only one cup brown and the rest white. I patted half of the crumb mixture on the bottom of a 13x9 pan, used my hands to "crumble" on the cranberry sauce (no need to spread really) evenly, and sprinkled on the rest of the oat mixture on top. I threw in some dried cranberries for texture with the jellied cranberry and topped the whole thing off with 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips. They were AWESOME! No eggs or milk so its great for restricted diets, next I will try it with even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I agree that these hold together MUCH better if you press half the oat mixture into the pan first, and put the cranberry in the middle. Very tasty. Scale to 2/3, and it fits very nicely into an 8 inch square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
As written, these are too sweet and full of butter! I read some of the reviews before making it, but its been a while . . . anyway, after it cooled off the butter reabsorbed but holy butter when I took it out of the oven! Good thing I don't need my cholesterol checked this week!. . . . seriously, they are good, but I would halve the butter and halve or 1/4 the sugar. You do not need that much! And thats why they only get 3 stars in my book. However, I did like how the sugar carmelized. Kinda nice and I've never had a cobbler/cookie do that. I made as written, although I toyed with making like cookies as others have. I used a 8x8 pan instead of 9x13 bc I like cobblers and cookies that way. I may make this again, but definitely not with that amount of butter or sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This was a great find. I loved this back in the 50's but had never had anything like it since! The second time I made them, I layered the cranberry sauce into the center which eliminated the gooey bottom and improved the texture and "fingerability". Everyone that tried them wanted the recipe. I also added chopped walnuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I added 2 cans of cranberry, otherwise it was spread too thin in the pan. I brought them to a staff meeting - everyone thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband loves these! And he almost never likes a dessert made with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I used this recipe to finish up some leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. (I made about a 1/2 portion of the recipe in a 8x8 glass baking dish.) It came out of the oven about an hour ago, and I've already sneaked 2 little squares! They taste good! I did the same process as many, split the crumbs to be half on the bottom, half on top. I probably would even put just a little more on the bottom, to give the squares a little more strength as you pick them up. I cut the butter down to a little more than half, and that worked out fine. I also added some dried cranberries to the cranberry sauce, and I'm glad I did. I wound up with a very thin layer of cranberry sauce when I spread it on, but it turned out to be more than enough. I wouldn't consider increasing the amount of sauce. So far they taste GREAT warm, but they need to cool some more before I officially cut them into squares. (edited to add: About half of them were stuck to the bottom of the pan, so I only got about 8 small squares and the rest was more "crumbly". Would line iwth aluminum foil next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Very good, but sticky! Beware... I would recommend using non-stick wax paper or non-stick aluminum foil to line to pan with because otherwise it is difficult to remove the pieces without them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
If you like cranberry, this recipe is excellent. I added the two cans of cranberry (one jellied and one whole cranberries) and layered it between the oat mixure as suggested by other reviewers. This made a great tasting dish, but I would not advise using two cans of cranberry if you actually want bars that can be easily cut and handled. This method produces more of a cranberry crisp. It was very good with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were good and very easy to make. I put them together in only about 15 minutes. I used leftover cranberry sauce (2 cups) instead of a can of the stuff and used 1 1/2 stick of butter. I also put half the crumble on the bottom and half on top of the berries. I got a lot of compliments on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States