Cranberry Crunch Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Super easy to make. Added some marshmallows over the cranberry sauce to get rid of the extras from Thanksgiving. Really good. I may of messed up on the measurements because they were a little gooey. Also added a dollop of whip cream above the squares. Unhealthy, but tasted awesome. Will have again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was YUMMY. I really don't like straight cranberry sauce, but had a leftover can from past holiday. I wanted to use it up but not eat it straight out of the can. This was lovely. I describe it as crumb topping with cranberry flavor. I didn't have much luck decreasing the butter, my topping wasn't holding together well enough. But I will try to decrease it next time. I liked this enough to buy the sauce just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I thought this recipe would be a good use for canned cranberry sauce I had. I did press 1/2 the oat mix down on bottom like suggested. I should have listened to others that recomended cutting the butter & sugar. They came out to greasy & very sweet This being said I still think I'd try it again with modifications I think it could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
First of all, these cannot be cut into squares and eaten like brownies. Also, I added 1 cup of flour in an effort to hold them together. I scoop it out onto a plate with a spoon while still warm, and everybody loves this dessert. Next time I will add the chocolate chips as someone else suggested. I have also cut down the amount of sugar in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Excellent recipe. Served it with Orange sauce from this site. Served to over 50 people who all enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were good and very easy to make. I put them together in only about 15 minutes. I used leftover cranberry sauce (2 cups) instead of a can of the stuff and used 1 1/2 stick of butter. I also put half the crumble on the bottom and half on top of the berries. I got a lot of compliments on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These squares tasted great...I tried pressing 1/2 the oatmeal mixture in the bottom so they would stick together better. They were really hard to get out of the pan intact. I was making them for a church bake sale and was dissappointed in the messy appearance. If making for yourself they are good, but don't make them to sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used the 3/4 cup butter like suggested and also did half of the crumb mixture on the bottom, and the remainder on top. Had to bake a few extra minutes but they were fabulous. I also grated an oranges worth of zest on the cranberries before i added the top layer of crumb. I Used 1 can of whole berry and 1 can of jellied. Can't be beat....yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I just made these, and they're great. We had a ton of leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. Like other reviewers, I tweaked the recipe - pressed some into the bottom of the pan, topped with berries, then more oat mixture on top. I also reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and the brown sugar to 1 1/3 cups, and added a little kosher salt and cinnamon. They're really good like this - so I'm glad I cut back on the butter so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I read the reviews but wanted to try the original how it is writen. But I ran out of brown sugar so ended up using 1/2 cup of white. The first batch was good but had to scrap the cranberries off the bottom of the pan. The second batch I made I used just white sugar and add a little bit more flour. I also took half the mix and pressed that on to the bottom of the pan then topped with cranberries and then the remaining oat mix. Pressed it all down flat and backed for 40 minutes. They were crunchy on the outside and a little gooey in the middle. Everyone liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States