Cranberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
This is a fabulous cheese cake I have made for 5 years. It is even better when made w/ a pre-fab graham cracker crust (get the extra serving size). I'm so happy to have the recipe print-out. I've been using the tiny recipe from the top of the condensed milk can, and the letters are getting smaller all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Think I would give this five stars plus, if that were an option. This was such a big hit for Thanksgiving. Just a couple of tweaks I'll mention -- used a graham cracker crust. Also, after reading a couple of comments on too-sweet canned cranberries, I made my own, ("Cranberry Sauce I", I belive -- 1 c. o.j., 12 oz of fresh cranberries and just 3/4 cup sugar, instead of the 1 c. called for, cook for about 10 min.) so I could control the sugar (obviously). Anyway, like I said, HUGE hit at our house -- thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Rich and sweet. For the life of me I can't figure out how all of that recipe was supposed to fit into a 9" pie crust... and I even had the deep dish crust. So my pie didn't turn out visually very nice (in fact it oozed out everywhere), but so what! It tasted great, and we just pretended it was a cobbler, instead! :) I'd like to experiment with a little cinnamon and/or nutmeg in this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This pie became a personal tradition of mine! It's rich and creamy, while the cranberry sauce adds a wonderful tartness and then it's topped off by a golden nutty crunch. I've made it probably 8 times and it aways turns out beautifully. A real crowd pleaser! I find it's even better when chilled overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was a delicious pie, although I gave it 4 stars because the cranberries were a little too sweet. I would absolutely make this again as is, but I'd also like to try using fresh cranberries and making my own cranberry sauce to make it less sweet. Everyone loved this one. I think it would also be good with a graham cracker crust, since it is basically a cheescake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Yummy! This pie was delicious! I was dubious about putting it in the oven, but I did anyway and it turned out great! I did a couple of things differently. First, I added the brown sugar to the crumb mixture instead of the cranberry mixture. I also ommited the cornstarch. I basically just put the cranberry sauce on top. I also used a graham cracker crust. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Basically, this is a good recipe, however, I think the canned cranberry sauce is too sweet for the already sweet filling. I'm going to try making it with freshly cooked cranberries that I won't sweetened too much. I relate this recipe to the one that calls for the sour cherries and I like that better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This is a great recipe! I used low-fat sweetened condensed milk and reduced fat cream cheese. My husband never suspected that it was low-fat. I am planning to make one for his company's Thanksgiving covered dish - he thinks they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was ok, I guess I expected it to be more of a cranberry pie but it was more like a cheese cake with a cranberry topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Okay so I did switch the fruit up a bit and went with fresh raspberries and blackberries (currently in season) but I kept everything else the same and it was delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States