Cranberry Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I didn't care for this pie but with several tweaks it could be good. The crumb topping wasn't that great, I think I would omit the flour next time. The creamcheese turned gritty the next day. Plus there was so much of the cranberry misture left over. A graham cracker crust would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Think I would give this five stars plus, if that were an option. This was such a big hit for Thanksgiving. Just a couple of tweaks I'll mention -- used a graham cracker crust. Also, after reading a couple of comments on too-sweet canned cranberries, I made my own, ("Cranberry Sauce I", I belive -- 1 c. o.j., 12 oz of fresh cranberries and just 3/4 cup sugar, instead of the 1 c. called for, cook for about 10 min.) so I could control the sugar (obviously). Anyway, like I said, HUGE hit at our house -- thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is tasty. But I agree with others, it would be good in a graham cracker crust. Also, I may try using fresh cranberries on top instead of pre-made sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Yummy! This pie was delicious! I was dubious about putting it in the oven, but I did anyway and it turned out great! I did a couple of things differently. First, I added the brown sugar to the crumb mixture instead of the cranberry mixture. I also ommited the cornstarch. I basically just put the cranberry sauce on top. I also used a graham cracker crust. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was definitely better after being refrigerated overnight. One problem I had is that the cranberry sunk right through the cream cheese layer before I could spread it evenly. I also wished for more tartness in the cranberry layer. But it tasted good and I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This pie became a personal tradition of mine! It's rich and creamy, while the cranberry sauce adds a wonderful tartness and then it's topped off by a golden nutty crunch. I've made it probably 8 times and it aways turns out beautifully. A real crowd pleaser! I find it's even better when chilled overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was a delicious pie, although I gave it 4 stars because the cranberries were a little too sweet. I would absolutely make this again as is, but I'd also like to try using fresh cranberries and making my own cranberry sauce to make it less sweet. Everyone loved this one. I think it would also be good with a graham cracker crust, since it is basically a cheescake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This pie is awesome! My grandparents fom New York loved the cream cheese with the festive cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Soo good! I feel this recipe really needs to be cooled AND chilled before serving. Cut into the pie after a couple hours of cooling on a rack and the cheesecake layer had a very odd texture... but excellent the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This pie is awesome, you can even change the cranberry to apple or cherry, whatever, it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States