Cranberry Chutney III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I used this recipe as an appetizer. I poured it over cream cheese and served ot with wheat crackers. It was a big hit, and the flavor got better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I used the peel of one whole orange chopped, I used a navel orange, and it was so bitter the sauce wasn't even edible. Then I made a second batch without the orange and combined it and it was still horrible, I think a much smaller portion of perhaps just a tablespoon or 2 of fresh grated orange peel would have been better. I ended up serving it at my family Thanksgiving dinner with 16 people, total flop, no one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Shouldn't it be orange zest instead of orange peel? Especially with navel oranges, since they have really thick peels. I can't even imagine how awful an entire orange peel could make ANY recipe. I will try this; it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipie is fabulous. My kids loved it!!! I used less sugar about 1 1/2 cups I could not believe how good it is I used pineapple rum instead of orange liqueour. Soooo good! this is the perfect recipe to begin. It is something that I can easily add to or change as needed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a nice alternative to the normal cranberry sauce. Even my mother enjoyed it and she is not a fan of cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Rosario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very nice recipe. I skipped the alcohol, and substituted 1 cup fresh squeezed oj for the water. Not too sweet, slightly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I just made some of this chutney III and put it in little mason jars to give out as gifts...I got 6.5 jars (half pint). I just tested it out, and it tastes great! Of course, cranberries are a little tart/bitter, but if it had been on turkey instead of my fork, and hot, it would be great!! I'm excited to try it. 2 tips: Grate the orange peel...I did about 1tbsp, and that's really all I thought it needed. 2. For the orange liquer, I used half of the orange I grated, and a drop of vodka. Great recipe, super easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suthernfancy
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Easy to make. Very tasty not too sweet. I did not add any orange peel or zest. I used 2/3 cup orange juice and 2/3 cup water for water and orange liqueur. Recipe makes 2 pints. I hope you don't mind I added my photos when cooking your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suthernfancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States