Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is an absoltely addictive chutney, with layers of flavor. I substitued craisins for raisins, and used two whole cinnamon sticks, 10 whole cloves, a nub of fresh ginger and a sprinkle of cayenne for heat. I also reduced the vinegar just slightly, but don't think that is necessary. Once the chutney sits and the flavors meld, the vinegar flavor really mellows out. I'm making another huge batch of this for Christmas gifts today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Ever since I came across this recipe a few years ago, I have used nothing else since. It's become a tradition to serve it. I do add 1/2 c. walnuts. Thanks for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have made this cranberry relish for 4 years now, with excellent results every time. I use the recipie as written, with fuji apples. The only thing different is that I simmer for much longer than 10 minutes. It's more like 20 minutes, and then I turn the heat off and mash it all together with a potato masher. It is heavenly! I just finished my Thanksgiving day batch just now. I may cheat and make a cold cut turkey sandwich just so that I can savor the warm sauce! Tomorrow it will be served at room temperature for all to enjoy. ~ Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've never eaten cranberry "roll" or sauce, it just seemed yucky to me, but it was requested for Thanksgiving and this recipe seemed interesting. I loved it! I think it was the combination of fresh cranberries and apples with all the lovely spices! I couldn't wait to eat the leftover turkey with this and the house smelled wonderful. I only changed a couple of things...only 1/4 cup of cider vinegar, added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and left out the raisins. This was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is really good. I too reduced the vinegar to 2 tbsp. I also added zest of 1 navel orange and the juice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
This is a good, interesting alternative to normal cranberry sauce. It's not very sweet, if you want that you might want to increase the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Everyone absolutely RAVED about this! It was so flavorful and the apple-cider vinegar gave it a nice twist (but I only used 1/3 cup). I loved that it wasn't just cranberries, the other fruits gave nice textures and the apples balanced out the tartness of the cranberries. I used whole cranberry sauce instead of fresh cranberries and it turned out fine, I just had to boil it down longer because of the extra fluid. Will definately be making this for future Thanksgivings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this as written but used apple cider instead of water. I added walnuts as suggested by another reviewer and a pinch of cayenne. I wasn't thrilled with the result that day, or even a few days later but a week or so later I ate this with brie and crackers and it mellowed out and blended wonderfully! I canned this using 8 oz jelly jars and a boiling water bath with a processing time of 10 minutes (per the Ball canning recommendations for a similar cranberry chutney recipe). The chopped apple loses some of its texture after canning but the recipe as a whole remains wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good! I used half white sugar, half brown sugar, and cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
Wonderful recipe. Best when served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States