Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this recipe twice within a couple of weeks after trying it the first time. I did like some other reviewers said and reduced the vinegar to 2 Tbsp and it was perfect. I served this with a charcuterie board one of the times and it was really well received! It's just the right amount of sweet and sour with a little kick from the spices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charysma88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My first foray into chutney... I made this the day of, and it was awful, super vinegar flavor and pretty bitter. The second day however! WOW! My husband says he prefers this to gravy on turkey, and he LOVES gravy (he even puts it on his stuffing). It was gone before the rest of the left overs, so it was a pretty great hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Delicious, fragrant, wonderful with turkey, ham, or pork! Mixed with cream cheese, it makes a tasty spread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I liked this recipe well enough, but my family did not. I added walnuts, but my son did not appreciate the crunchiness of those. I only added 1/4 cup vinegar but still found that taste overwhelmed the chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe. I used blood orange juice instead of water, added walnuts, used less sugar, and let it sit for a while after cooking for 20 minutes instead of ten. Ate the entire recipe, too. Be sure to add the apple cider vinegar. It may seem counter-intuitive, but it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Tastes like potpourri. I don't think the vinegar is necessary since the cranberries are already tart and the spices are overpowering. Maybe some cream cheese will mellow it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made it and even hot it was amazing! Can not wait to serve it w/ brie for Christmas!!! Sub the cider vinegar for red wine and added 1/2 cup of walnuts. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1T of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was awesome. The reason I looked this up is I had a sandwich at a local deli that had this as a spread with smoked turkey, havarati cheese, and cream cheese on a great thick wheat bread. Delicious! Thanks for sharing so I can make my sandwich @ home now !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a wonderfully fragrant and tangy chutney. It is especially good on a grilled turkey panini. I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup, added about a tablespoon of honey and a few extra raisins which made it plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this as written but used apple cider instead of water. I added walnuts as suggested by another reviewer and a pinch of cayenne. I wasn't thrilled with the result that day, or even a few days later but a week or so later I ate this with brie and crackers and it mellowed out and blended wonderfully! I canned this using 8 oz jelly jars and a boiling water bath with a processing time of 10 minutes (per the Ball canning recommendations for a similar cranberry chutney recipe). The chopped apple loses some of its texture after canning but the recipe as a whole remains wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States