Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This really came out wonderful except that the cider vinegar was very overwelming in the flavour. Next time I would omit it or at least reduce the amount of cider vinegar. It made it tast weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good but I'll cut back the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
We did not care for this. Granted, my family is used to the cranberry sauce out of the can, but this was just BAD! We actually had to remove it from the Thanksgiving table :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this in addition to the Blue Cranberry Sauce (also on this site) for Thanksgiving this year. It was really good. As per other reviewers I reduced the amount of vinegar to 2 Tbsp. (plenty). I also chose to omit the raisins and instead added 1/4 c. diced dried apricots. Just before serving I mixed in some chopped walnuts. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
We halved the vinegar as suggested and used diced dried apricots instead of raisins. While very tangy, I wouldn't change another thing! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Instructions are very easy to follow, It was a hit at my thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this with just 2 Tbsp of vinegar and it was still wayyyy too strong. I think I will try it again without the vinegar and maybe a little more sugar. My mother-in-law really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Just delicious! I used gala apples & cut down to 2tbl of acv as suggested. The galas were perfect since they are sweet so the flavor was just right...sweet & tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After reading what others had to say about this recipe, I made some variations to the recipe, all else remaining the same: 3/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c light brown sugar, 2-3 fuji apples, 2 tbsp cider vinegar, omitted the raisins, cooked it for 25-30 min to reach the thick consistency I was looking for, and then gently mashed the apples. I found that if you eat it right after making it while it's still warm, it's a little more tart and "vinegary," but if you refrigerate it over night, it lessens the tartness and vinegar element so it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I've used this recipe for years(found it in an AARP magazine) and it's a hit every year. Always requested for the holidays whether I'm cooking or going someplace. It's a tradition for me and now for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States