Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was a great recipe! I received so many compliments at Thanksgiving. It is not exactly your "typical" cranberry sauce-- but with more complex flavors and textures, it is better! I did put less cider vinegar (about 3+ Tbl) and felt that even this amount was too much (I added more sugar to try and compensate.) Next time I will try just 2 Tbl. as many reviewers suggest. Also, I needed to simmer it for more than 10 min. to get the texture I was looking for (maybe more like 15-20 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Omitted the raisins, added 1/4 cup brown sugar, and reduced the cider vinegar to 3 tablespoons. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Made this for our church Thanksgiving Dinner. It got rave reviews. On average each person ate one-and-a-half portions (it was that good)! I added a little more sugar (to taste), bec. I knew the people who'd be eating it like sweeter than tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
So easy - my family requests this each year! It looks like you spent forever on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I usually dislike the flavour of cranberries, but I love this recipe! That works out quite well, because I didn't feel right about making Thanksgiving dinner without cranberry sauce. It not only tastes great but also smells delicious when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Yikes, the taste of vinegar was overwhelming! Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This one is incredible. I made it, as a change of pace, for Thanksgiving dinner, to have along with the more traditional kind. It went fast. I had to make a second batch to eat with the leftovers, it was so good. I made it the night before, and it was very sharp tasting, when it was fresh, and still warm. I was worried that it would be too tart, but a night in the fridge mellowed it perfectly. Made it a bunch of times since, it's great just to eat off the spoon. Thanks for a new classic recipe in my house, I highly recommend this one. ***THREE YEARS LATER- We still use this as our traditional cranberry sauce on holidays, and throughout the year, and we still LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
My daughter done this for Xmas and was the best chutney I ever taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsybes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
We had a table of seven for Xmas dinner and I substituted this for the regular/plain cranberry sauce. Everyone loved it so much that there wasn't any left over. This will be a holiday tradition in our home for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
WONDERFUL We will have this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States