Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Just delicious! I used gala apples & cut down to 2tbl of acv as suggested. The galas were perfect since they are sweet so the flavor was just right...sweet & tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After reading what others had to say about this recipe, I made some variations to the recipe, all else remaining the same: 3/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c light brown sugar, 2-3 fuji apples, 2 tbsp cider vinegar, omitted the raisins, cooked it for 25-30 min to reach the thick consistency I was looking for, and then gently mashed the apples. I found that if you eat it right after making it while it's still warm, it's a little more tart and "vinegary," but if you refrigerate it over night, it lessens the tartness and vinegar element so it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I've used this recipe for years(found it in an AARP magazine) and it's a hit every year. Always requested for the holidays whether I'm cooking or going someplace. It's a tradition for me and now for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Fantastic recipe. This has become a Thanksgiving and Christmas tradition for three years now. Makes a great take-home gift for guests if you make it ahead of time and can it. I made two changes to this recipe - I substituted pure maple syrup for the sugar to add more depth and I added a Bosc pear as well as the apples (I omit the raisins. Texture is better without them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Awesome. I love vinegar, so the 1/2 cup was not too much for me. Goes great on all poultry, not just turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was sooo awesome! I will make sure I always have this on hand for toast, meat, sandwiches, etc! I didn't have any fresh cranberries on hand so I used canned whole cranberry sauce, cut back on the water and sugar! I also took the advice from another review to gently smash after it had simmered. Love it! Get the point! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving. I loved it I didn't put all the apple cider vinager in like others sujected and add cranberry juice instead. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Good. Received compliments. I also reduced the vinegar to 2 tbsp and split the sugars by adding half white and half brown. I also added (1) grated orange rind. Still seemed a tad tart to me, but then I'm not really a fan of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My daughter and I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! I made a few adjustments though, I decreased the vinegar to 2 tablespoons, substituted Splenda for the sugar and used 3 apples instead of 2 (it made it thicker). Another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very easy to make and delicious. I warmed it up and put it over brie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States