Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought it was good, but it had a strong taste of vinegar. It was a hit or miss with my family, a bit strong for some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Ware
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I subbed Splenda for part of the sugar, but the part that threw me was how vinegary it tastes the first day. But, I made mine Sunday to serve Thursday, and on Thursday it was amazing! It tastes sort of like a sweet & sour pickled spiced fruit sauce, if you can imagine that. Our family had never tried cranberry sauce (or cranberry chutney) before, except in a can which we hated. We really liked this, I served it hot with cold cream cheese & crackers. We also liked it hot with the cheese ball made by someone else! This is a recipe we'll use again! (I liked this better with cheese than with turkey. With turkey it was sort of...too sweet? But again, I didn't grow up eating it!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I believe this would have been a good recipe if not for the cider vinegar. I only about 1/4 cup but I think any at all will ruin an otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Love this. I left out most the vinegar. I found the first time I made it the vinegar was a little too bitter. The second time I made it I only put in a drop of vinegar, and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Really like the blend of flavors. We did cut back on the cider vinegar to 1/8c. My husband wants to cut the cranberries & raisins some before cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Excellent! I made this for Thanksgiving and even my picky sister loved it. I have also served it over Brie cheese with crackers for a quick appetizer. I just made up a double batch and will freeze some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It sounded better than it tasted. It's actually quite good with turkey but perhaps a bit too tart. I would definitely cut back on the vinegar. Cranberries are quite tart all on their own. Using balsamic vinegar (about 2-3 tbsp) might be a reasonable substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Tasty recipe, however some of the spices are a little strong. Excellent side for turkey though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Simply amazing. Makes a great spread for bread or muffins for days to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We searched the stores for chutney for a Christmas party to no avail. I finally looked here and got this great recipe! It is very easy to make. We served it with a block of cream cheese and Wheat Thins crackers. What an amazing taste combination! I'm glad I saved some at home because I've been enjoying some delicious snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States