Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Absolutely the best!! I made it for thanksgiving. I had a fresh orange on hand, so I zested it and added, and it made a difference (I love orange peel), but it would have still be great without it, as another user said. I did cut down the vinegar to 2TBsp as recommended by most. (I doubled the recipe and used 1/4 cup). I was not sure which apples to use, so I asked someone, and they recommended MacIntosh (they break down better)...worked well. Amazing recipe! I loved it! This will be my standard cranberry sauce from now on. Thank you very much!!! Those who did not try it because they dont like cranberries have no idea what they are missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This chutney has a wonderful flavor and texture. It goes very well with turkey. However, cut back the cider vinegar to 2 tablespoons. The whole family just loved it. Fun to make too.---Diana G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Full of taste, definately better than that yucky looking stuff most people use out of the can. I personally don't like cranberry sauce but I continue to eat this one, it has a wonderful flavor (I love the apples) and I love the smell of this when it's cooking. I ended up having to make another batch before dinner because it was gone by the time the bird was done :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This one is incredible. I made it, as a change of pace, for Thanksgiving dinner, to have along with the more traditional kind. It went fast. I had to make a second batch to eat with the leftovers, it was so good. I made it the night before, and it was very sharp tasting, when it was fresh, and still warm. I was worried that it would be too tart, but a night in the fridge mellowed it perfectly. Made it a bunch of times since, it's great just to eat off the spoon. Thanks for a new classic recipe in my house, I highly recommend this one. ***THREE YEARS LATER- We still use this as our traditional cranberry sauce on holidays, and throughout the year, and we still LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I omitted the raisins and cider vinegar but did add just a splash of balsamic vinegar. I also added some roasted, chopped pecans and used this chutney on top of brie wrapped in phyllo dough. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
After reading what others had to say about this recipe, I made some variations to the recipe, all else remaining the same: 3/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c light brown sugar, 2-3 fuji apples, 2 tbsp cider vinegar, omitted the raisins, cooked it for 25-30 min to reach the thick consistency I was looking for, and then gently mashed the apples. I found that if you eat it right after making it while it's still warm, it's a little more tart and "vinegary," but if you refrigerate it over night, it lessens the tartness and vinegar element so it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My guests thought this was weird and generally left it on their plates, but I personally thought it was great. I think too much vinegar may put some people off. But really, it is a new and exciting twist on the old cranberry treatment. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Flavorful, attractive alternative to the canned "cranberry log" my grandmother used to serve. Reduce vinegar, though... much too tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This recipe is terrific! I used golden raisins with it and it looks beautiful! Very tasty with brie cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Folks, please keep in mind that this recipe is a chutney. It's meant to have a "pickled" flavor; hence the amount of vinegar. If you want something more like regular American cranberry sauce then definitely reduce the vinegar to only 1-2 tablespoons. I've been making this recipe for years now and absolutely love it, both as written as chutney or with reduced vinegar as cranberry sauce with an outstanding, unusual spiced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States