Cranberry Chutney I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think this recipe has too much vinegar. I made it as directed. It's probably not fair to compare this to a typical cranberry sauce which is often very sweet. I like the suggestion of one cook who thought that using orange juice instead of water would be a good idea. I think I'll like this better on a turkey sandwich. So, I'm going to keep an open mind about it and probably cut back on the vinegar next time I make it. The spices are very nice. I would not change them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
The anti-vinegar people here are missing the point. This is cranberry chutney, not Ocean Spray canned cranberry jelly. There are most likely other recipes here like the way I make it, but, here I go: Saute 1/2 cup of onion for a while, throw in some garlic when the onion is soft, then proceed with the recipe. You can do without the apples and raisins as far as I'm concerned. I used 3/4 c. packed brown sugar and rice wine vinegar. I like adding orange jest. I just used 1 tsp. of ground ginger, instead of all the other spices. Grated fresh ginger would be very good. In fact, if you want it really orange-y, replace the water with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was ok but I really didn't care for the flavor profile. I like cinnamon, ginger, allspice and clove but in this dish they overpowered the cranberry and the turkey. I wish I had just made my tried and true cranberry-orange relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol M Haggerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
It is quite good. Although I agree, less cider vinegar would be better maybe cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made the recipe as written for ingredients but I cooked it for a lot longer than the 10 minutes it said so it would be thicker. Maybe it thickens on its own during the cooling process but I really liked the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
YUM! Loved this so much am making it just for me! I disagree with those who said to cut back on the vinegar. Balsamic vinegar makes this chutney come alive. Don't be afraid! I've also thrown in chopped dried apricots or toasted pecans when raisins weren't on hand. For an INCREDIBLE taste sensation, try on Fage greek yogurt....beyond heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Kalajian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I split the difference between some of the reviewers' comments and the actual recipe and used 3T vinegar. Otherwise I made it exactly as per the recipe. It was great. It is wonderful as a side with the whole Thanksgiving meal, or on a sandwich with just turkey. I used a granny smith apple. Since it didn't say what kind of raisins, I had black ones and that worked fine. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love love love this recipe. It makes the whole house smell delicious too. I've been using this recipe as is for a few years now. I really don't like orange in my cranberry and this is only one a few recipes that doesn't call for it. I make it the day before and bring it to room temp before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGOLDSMITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I made this last night, could not find fresh cranberries this time of year so i used dried ones. Still came out amazing!!! I made some blackened brie and garlic ciabatta crustinis with it. SO DELICIOUS!!!! I recommend using a large granny smith apple. The spices came together great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec1nky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Love this. I make this all season when fresh cranberries are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States