Cranberry Chipotle Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I've served these at least four times over the holiday season. They are easy, healthy and REALLY good. They have been a hit with everyone. I haven't tried using a stronger cheese (Gorgonzola/Blue Cheese) yet but will the next time I prepare them. They are TERRIFIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smaciegracie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these for Christmas and New Years, and it turned out to be a hit! I used mandarian oranges instead of pineapples because my father's allergic. The chipotle chile in adobo sauce is very spicy. I only used half the can in a doubled recipe. If they sit over night they will be more spicy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Please keep in mind that the recipe calls for one chile, not one can of chiles. It is very important to remember if you want to keep your mouth intact and your head from exploding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious! I had to use up some meatball mix so I used fresh meatballs. I also only used half adobo and half Sweet baby Rays bbq sauce since I cant handle spicy very well. So good. Added to the list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
i made this with turkey meatballs instead of regular. it was delicious! just the right amount of sweet and spicy. i wouldn't change a thing, other than the meat to make it a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This sauce has a wonderful and unique flavor. I expected it to be more "holiday" tasting because of the cranberry sauce, but it's definitely a year-round dish. (Not that cranberry sauce isn't wonderful any time of year.) I used homemade meatballs I had frozen, two chipotles and two tsp. of the adobo sauce. I also neglected to drain the pineapple. It is -very- spicy. My boyfriend, who generally isn't a spicy food kind of guy, has declared it his new favorite dish. Oddly enough, I think I'd prefer it as written--one chili--next time. Having read the reviews, it seemed as though some people were mistakenly adding the whole can, so I thought two peppers wouldn't be pushing it. It is. Wonderful flavor all around, though, despite my error in judgment! Also, I served it over plain white rice, making it a main dish instead of an appetizer. I suspect the pineapple juice contributed, as it definitely gave the dish a liberal amount of "sauce." It worked out really well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This appetizer is delicious! The meatballs and pineapple melt in your mouth. If you are setting this out for more than 6 people double the batch. It is spicy so not something you want to serve to young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Yummy! I love chipotle, so I couldn't wait to try these. However, I did make a few changes due since I didn't have all the ingrediants. I used two 32 oz. bags of swedish meatballs, a large can of chipotle, 1 can of jellied, 1 can had whole cranberries in it, and a small scoop of brown sugar. Unfortunately I didn't have any pineapple so I didn't use it. I also didn't have alot of time, so I microwaved the meatballs for a couple minutes and dumped everything into the crock pot. I tasted it before I added the sugar and thought it was a little sweet. I can't wait to try it with homemade meatballs! The sauce ingrediantes might be a nice glaze on a turkey or chicken. Thanks Jshot21!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fantastic! Added 2 chipotle chilies and 2 tblspns of adobo....perfect amount of spice and sweet. Great sauce....next time I will make my own meatballs. Perfect crockpot Super Bowl appy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I've made this time and time again. It's always a huge hit at our get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States