Cranberry Chipotle Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent! I followed the recipe and the only change was not draining the pineapple pieces and I made my own meatballs. I used about 1 tbsp. of adobe pepper and the sauce was a tasty combination of sweet and spicy. As it was cooking in a saucepan on the stove, I kept sampling the sauce-it was addictive. My husband couldn't wait to eat. We loved it on rice. I will be making this for my dinner party this weekend. Thank-you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made it for a party and everyone loves it. I got meatballs from Sam's. If you are doing it for a potluck party, you are likely going to double the recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe. I did not drain the juice from the pineapple can. There are 2 types of pineapple chunks...one in heavy syrup and the other one in 100% juice (I used the latter). I doubled the recipe and only used 3 chilies and some of its sauce. It gave a hint of heat but not too overpowering. Will do it again for sure. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love spicy sweet, great hit at party. For those saying it is way to spicy, the recipe calls for one chopped chipotle pepper, not the whole can! I used one plus added a little extra sauce. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I've made this time and time again. It's always a huge hit at our get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Ok, but think I'll go to a sweet and sour sauce next time. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very tasty but very spicy if recipe is followed. Only 1 can of Chipotle chili's would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is great!! I was glad to have a "tweaked" version of meatballs other than the usual BBQ or cranberry sauce meatballs. When I make it again, I will use less brown sugar and a whole can of the chipotles. It was a little too sweet for my liking, and could have used more kick. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
they were ok i rater making my own meat balls and have of the chipotle sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This sauce has a wonderful and unique flavor. I expected it to be more "holiday" tasting because of the cranberry sauce, but it's definitely a year-round dish. (Not that cranberry sauce isn't wonderful any time of year.) I used homemade meatballs I had frozen, two chipotles and two tsp. of the adobo sauce. I also neglected to drain the pineapple. It is -very- spicy. My boyfriend, who generally isn't a spicy food kind of guy, has declared it his new favorite dish. Oddly enough, I think I'd prefer it as written--one chili--next time. Having read the reviews, it seemed as though some people were mistakenly adding the whole can, so I thought two peppers wouldn't be pushing it. It is. Wonderful flavor all around, though, despite my error in judgment! Also, I served it over plain white rice, making it a main dish instead of an appetizer. I suspect the pineapple juice contributed, as it definitely gave the dish a liberal amount of "sauce." It worked out really well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fantastic! Added 2 chipotle chilies and 2 tblspns of adobo....perfect amount of spice and sweet. Great sauce....next time I will make my own meatballs. Perfect crockpot Super Bowl appy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States