Cranberry Chipotle Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent! I followed the recipe and the only change was not draining the pineapple pieces and I made my own meatballs. I used about 1 tbsp. of adobe pepper and the sauce was a tasty combination of sweet and spicy. As it was cooking in a saucepan on the stove, I kept sampling the sauce-it was addictive. My husband couldn't wait to eat. We loved it on rice. I will be making this for my dinner party this weekend. Thank-you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made it for a party and everyone loves it. I got meatballs from Sam's. If you are doing it for a potluck party, you are likely going to double the recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe. I did not drain the juice from the pineapple can. There are 2 types of pineapple chunks...one in heavy syrup and the other one in 100% juice (I used the latter). I doubled the recipe and only used 3 chilies and some of its sauce. It gave a hint of heat but not too overpowering. Will do it again for sure. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love spicy sweet, great hit at party. For those saying it is way to spicy, the recipe calls for one chopped chipotle pepper, not the whole can! I used one plus added a little extra sauce. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I've made this time and time again. It's always a huge hit at our get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Ok, but think I'll go to a sweet and sour sauce next time. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very tasty but very spicy if recipe is followed. Only 1 can of Chipotle chili's would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is great!! I was glad to have a "tweaked" version of meatballs other than the usual BBQ or cranberry sauce meatballs. When I make it again, I will use less brown sugar and a whole can of the chipotles. It was a little too sweet for my liking, and could have used more kick. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
they were ok i rater making my own meat balls and have of the chipotle sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This sauce has a wonderful and unique flavor. I expected it to be more "holiday" tasting because of the cranberry sauce, but it's definitely a year-round dish. (Not that cranberry sauce isn't wonderful any time of year.) I used homemade meatballs I had frozen, two chipotles and two tsp. of the adobo sauce. I also neglected to drain the pineapple. It is -very- spicy. My boyfriend, who generally isn't a spicy food kind of guy, has declared it his new favorite dish. Oddly enough, I think I'd prefer it as written--one chili--next time. Having read the reviews, it seemed as though some people were mistakenly adding the whole can, so I thought two peppers wouldn't be pushing it. It is. Wonderful flavor all around, though, despite my error in judgment! Also, I served it over plain white rice, making it a main dish instead of an appetizer. I suspect the pineapple juice contributed, as it definitely gave the dish a liberal amount of "sauce." It worked out really well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fantastic! Added 2 chipotle chilies and 2 tblspns of adobo....perfect amount of spice and sweet. Great sauce....next time I will make my own meatballs. Perfect crockpot Super Bowl appy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States