Cranberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Here's a tip: add some fresh orange zest to the icing to add a hint of flavor that totally boosts the cake and lessens the weird cream cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The icing was delicious. I had no problems with it running and frosted the whole cake. I couldn't find cranberry apple sauce so I used strawberry applesauce to give it that pink color. The icing has enough cranberry flavor to overpower the strawberry. However, I did have a problem with the cake not rising much. So it was a pretty small cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I used a regular yellow cake mix and followed the directions on the box. I used a 9x13 pan. I also added another 8oz box of cream cheese. I did not increase the sugar. The frosting was nice and firm and would work great for a layered cake. I got rave reviews. It makes a lot of frosting, so I cut up apples and served them around a bowl of the extra frosting. My cake wasn't as calorie friendly as this one, but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Water ingredient edited by the allrecipes staff on 1/14/2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really loved this cake, as did the rest of my family. I added 1/2 cup of Craisins to the batter because I wanted more cranberry flavor and it turned out great. The frosting is very soft but all I did was leave the cake in the fridge until I was ready to serve and the icing firmed up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a delicious recipe, great for Christmas or Thanksgiving. One thing I found, the amount of water wasn't listed in ingredaints, si I started off with 1/4 c. water,and increased it little by little until it was the correct consistancy of cake batter-which eneded up being about 1c. total of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Recipe is incomplete, no mention of water until directions. Frosting is soup, not "creamy or soft"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved it-I decided to use 1/2 whole cranberry sauce and 1/2 jellied and I had no problems at all with the consistency of the frosting..It was so good in fact we used the leftover frosting on some other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
served this at christmas. everybody loved it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I made this cake for an office birthday everyone LOVED it!! it was so moist adn full of flavor. I am deff. going to make it again!! Oh I added 1 cup of water that little detail was left of the how much part of the ingred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Marx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States