Cranberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Make half the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Neah Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was okay in terms of the cake itself, I have not made the butter sauce yet but I'm sure it will make this much better. I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp kosher salt, and 1 tsp cinnamon instead of nutmeg to the batter. I baked it in mufffin tins, made 12 nice sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this into cupcakes for a bake sale and they were a hit. Moist and flavorful. I can't wait to make them into a bundt cake next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is quite simple and most of the items are basic. The only thing I would change is to make a light cranberry sauce rather than the sauce in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just made this for my kids, and they really enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe, and it seemed a little dry when I creamed the butter and sugar, so I added 1/8 cup canola oil for moisture. Also, I did not have whipping cream, so I used evaporated milk for the sauce, and it turned out o.k.. My daughter rated the sauce alone 3 stars, and the cake alone 4 stars, but together she gave it a 5. Although, she liked the cake enough she said it did not even need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma's Cafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very easy-- followed recipe exactly, and it came out great. I brought it to a party-- didn't bring the cream sauce, but served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. A big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Not only was this cake phenomenal, but it was quick and easy. The cream sauce brought it over the edge from being a nice "afternoon tea" kind of cake, to something worthy of the holiday table. Next time I might try mixing in some other fruit (dried apricots or frozen blueberries) and maybe even some nuts. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I prepared this cake for 80 people and it was the talk of the night. Easy to make, followed the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very moist cake. Can also bake in bundt pan for 40-45 minutes (frozen cranberries; slightly less if fresh cranberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This the cranberry christmas cake my aunt made for our family Christmases 50 years ago, I loved it, so glad to find the recipe here. My favorite Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States