Cranberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Make half the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Neah Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was okay in terms of the cake itself, I have not made the butter sauce yet but I'm sure it will make this much better. I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp kosher salt, and 1 tsp cinnamon instead of nutmeg to the batter. I baked it in mufffin tins, made 12 nice sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this into cupcakes for a bake sale and they were a hit. Moist and flavorful. I can't wait to make them into a bundt cake next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is quite simple and most of the items are basic. The only thing I would change is to make a light cranberry sauce rather than the sauce in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just made this for my kids, and they really enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe, and it seemed a little dry when I creamed the butter and sugar, so I added 1/8 cup canola oil for moisture. Also, I did not have whipping cream, so I used evaporated milk for the sauce, and it turned out o.k.. My daughter rated the sauce alone 3 stars, and the cake alone 4 stars, but together she gave it a 5. Although, she liked the cake enough she said it did not even need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma's Cafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very easy-- followed recipe exactly, and it came out great. I brought it to a party-- didn't bring the cream sauce, but served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. A big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Not only was this cake phenomenal, but it was quick and easy. The cream sauce brought it over the edge from being a nice "afternoon tea" kind of cake, to something worthy of the holiday table. Next time I might try mixing in some other fruit (dried apricots or frozen blueberries) and maybe even some nuts. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I prepared this cake for 80 people and it was the talk of the night. Easy to make, followed the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very moist cake. Can also bake in bundt pan for 40-45 minutes (frozen cranberries; slightly less if fresh cranberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This the cranberry christmas cake my aunt made for our family Christmases 50 years ago, I loved it, so glad to find the recipe here. My favorite Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States