Cranberry-Black Cherry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I HATE CRANBERRIES - jellied, whole berries, raw, cooked, in or out of a can -yuk! Searching desperately for ANY jello recipe to make these buggers taste even reasonably good. EUREKA! THIS is it! Creamy, delightful not overly tangy without being bland with a taste that my equally cranberry hating husband loved. I made one small change not because I thought it would improve the recipe but only because I had this odd 6 oz can of pineapple juice that I used to make up 6 oz of the 2 cups of hot water. A SOLID WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great recipe to use as a salad or a dessert! I have also used the same basic ingredients, but substituted the black-cherry with orange gelatin and the cranberries with mandarin oranges. It was also a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was a very easy and good recipe. I turn the mold out on a bed of lettuce which gave a very nice presentation at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was delicious. I wanted to use cranberry jello but couldn't find any. So I used raspberry jello and instead of hot water, I used light cranberry juice. I didn't add the nuts. Other than that, I did everything the same. Turned out GREAT. Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENINCA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was a nice recipes; however, it really does does like black cherry yogurt, so I'm not sure it's worth it. It's definitely not an elegant dish for your holiday menu, but is an inexpensive, easy one that most people will enjoy (but, not love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
It was delicious. I did not make it with the nuts. I added some purple grapes... and I thought that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
First attempt at cooking with Jell-O. It was very good, and the combination of sour cream and cranberry jelly made this mold taste like a fruit yogurt the way it is sold in Europe. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Very good, everyone loved it! I would remind other cooks to make sure to use room temperature sour cream or it will curdle and use a whisk to completely blend the sour cream in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This is just delicious! Very fresh tasting. My kids loved it. We couldn't find black cherry jello so we used cherry and it was so good! This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States