Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
While it came out softer than I expected, they were still great. I was worried it wouldn;t fit the 9x13 pan so I used an 8x8 and they were pretty thick. The taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I came down to Naples with a package of fresh cranberries in my suitcase, not wanting them to go to waste while I was gone. (I do that a lot) I chose this recipe because I thought it perfect for keeping my mitts out of it, because I don’t like cranberries and I’m not particularly fond of cake mixes or even ginger, for that matter. I’m just a sucker for cake mixes whenever they go on sale. Mixing these up confirmed for me I would not be a fan, and I certainly wasn’t amused with having to “pinch off” pieces of the mixture for the topping. What a pain in the neck. I was sure I wasn’t going to like these and I’d save myself a few thousand calories by not eating them. But I was surprised - these were good. Real good. The fresh cranberry filling is to die for and the bar part is surprisingly good too – doesn’t have that yucky cake mix taste and I didn’t even detect the ginger at all! I used a French Vanilla cake mix (one of the few remaining original 18.5 oz. size) because in my experience it tastes infinitely better, a lot less artificial, than a yellow cake mix. To be on the safe side I sprayed my pan with Pam and had no problems getting the bars out of the pan. However, it may have been helpful that when I spread the cranberry filling I kept it away from the edges. I would not hesitate to make these again. And I know Hubs would have no problem with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
YUM!!!!!!!!!!! They are rich but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome and easy! I did tweak a little as per some of the reviews by cutting the water down to 1/2 cup and adding orange zest once berries were cooked down. Allowed to sit overnight to cool before making the bars. Made a second batch using Saskatoon berries with lemon zest in place of cranberries. Oh my!!!!!! I think I like these better than the cranberry version, but then again , I'm partial to Saskatoon berries. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The taste on these bars is fabulous! The first time I made this the topping was very hard and that made them difficult to cut into bars. I made it a second time and 1. used a bigger pan (11x15) 2. used all the batter on the bottom 3. added a crumble top mixture of flour, oats, brown sugar and butter over the cranberry mixture. Cooled overnight. Turned out excellent and was WAY easier to cut into any size bars. Either way you make it the taste is amazing! These are going to a public function and I KNOW they will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Absolutely love these!! Won 2nd place in a cranberry bake off! Freeze very well and they taste great right out of the freezer too. Very easy to make, great ahead of time. Using real cranberries was a breeze and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninja Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The combination of fresh cranberries, rolled oats and the dash of spices with the yellow mix makes for a fabulous autumn dessert. I baked this and many other goodies for my nearly 90 dad during my visit. These cranberry bars were his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninja Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
took this to a block party everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this using canned cherry pie filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Turned out fantastic! I had only 1/2 a bag of cranberries, so subbed about 3/4 C of dried for the other half bag and added an additional 3/4 C water. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States