Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were really good; moist, flavorful NO boxed cake mix taste! I used canned whole cranberries, and butter instead of margerine. Best if eaten within 2-3 days, after that the top tends to get soggy. I am going to make more with a different fruit and cake mix flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were good, but I wouldnt call them bars as this is a cake recipe...doesnt resemble cake whatsoever. I made it twice and settled on using half the batter in a bundt cake, top with cranberry sauce and add rest of batter. Marble the top and cook. Wait until completely cooled to cut or remove. It is very good any way you cook it "bars" or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I liked these bars, once they had cooled completely. I had no trouble with them crumbling. I cooked my cranberries/sugar mixture to a very thick jam consistency. The only problem I did have with this recipe is that the bars were done at 30 mins, much earlier than the recipe states. I will make this again when I am wanting something sweet with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent. Be sure they are good and cool before cutting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was ok but I wouldn't call them bars exactly. When left for the next day, these bars get softer and almost cake like. I did like the contrast between tart cranberries and the sweetness of the dough, but this is probably something I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made these last year (Christmas) with what I had in my kitchen. They were a refreshing change from all the other rich and chocolate goodies. I made them again for Thanksgiving and received good reviews. Nice with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was so excited to make these after reading all the amazing reviews, and thought that Thanksgiving would be the perfect time to unveil such a delicious treat. Sadly, I was very disappointed. They weren't bad, but they certainly didn't live up to the expectations I had from all the great reviews. After reading some of the other reviews I decided to only use 3/4 cup white sugar to sweeten the cranberries. They were very tart, which I like, but if you prefer sweeter I would stick with the 1 cup of sugar. Also, I let them bake for 40 minutes, which turned out to be a little too long. I checked them after 35 minutes, but they didn't look done. 40 minutes was too long though, so just keep an eye on them if you think 35 minutes isn't long enough. I let them cool for about 3 hours, and had no problems cutting them into bars. They did look very pretty, but to me they just tasted like a buttery nutri-grain bar. I was expecting them to taste more like the raspberry bars at Starbucks (which are to die for), but they were not even close. Everybody said they were really good...but I think they were just trying to be nice because I had almost half the pan left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These bars are quick and easy to bake! I patted the dough in my hand and flattened it to put on top of the cranberry layer. I had a few uncovered places but it filled in while baking. The smelled wonderful while cooking!!!! Great fall recipe! Nikki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I make this recipe every year and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yum. Definately agree with others about the nice contrast between the tang and the sweet. Next time I think I'll add some coconut and I like the idea of some white chocolate chips! Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VKENNER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States