Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is heavenly. I made it twice over the holidays, once with the yellow cake mix and once with spice cake mix, and both were fabulous. WONDERFUL recipe, easy and yummy! A friend made this with chocolate cake mix and she said it was so good. I prefer spice or yellow, I think, but if you are a real chocolate freak, you'd probably like the chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A delicious cranberry dessert! Where the recipe called for 1 cup white sugar, I used 3/4 cup. Where the recipe called for 3/4 cup brown sugar, I used 1/2 cup. The bars are still very sweet with the reduced amounts of sugar and next time I will use slightly less sugar still. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
VERY rich with butter and sweet, the homeade cranberry sauce was a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These things just went like hotcakes at my work holiday party! I loved the tartness of the cranberries. I think I might mess around and look for a heartier crust, though. I like a little more substance than the yellow cake mix gave. But this one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I did the cranberries the day before and it helped them to set at a gel consistency and were easier to spread evenly. Make sure you cook your berries down, really cook them down. Also, keep the layers of the crust thin. It really puffs up and can over power your berries if not careful. This was very rich for us and we found that serving it with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream made it a fabulous desert for our celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The tartness balances the sweetness. My family wouldn't touch it if I told them if it was cranberries; so they tell me great cherry bars, mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
OMG soo good. i'm not a sweet eater but these were just heavenly!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I served these as a Thanksgiving dessert this year, and everyone loved them. I took the advice of others and used a can of whole cranberry sauce instead of making my own. It probably could have gone a few minutes longer in the oven, but it was hard to judge if they were done or not because of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I zested 1 orange and used its juice and water to make the 3/4 c for the cranberry sauce, 10 min cooking is fine. After cooking just place pan in sink filled with 3" cold water- it will cool very quickly that way and thicken. To the cake mixture, decreased butter to 2/3 c, 2 eggs, and used quick oats(didn't have rolled), only 1/2 c br sugar, 2 t. cinnamon, no ginger. Then use the butter wrapper to press down the dough mixture into the pan (it won't stick) and use wrapper again to press the remaining dough into flat pieces to place over the cranberry mixture. 35 min was perfect in my oven. Cool completely and it will cut beautifully. Great fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States