Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
VERY rich with butter and sweet, the homeade cranberry sauce was a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These things just went like hotcakes at my work holiday party! I loved the tartness of the cranberries. I think I might mess around and look for a heartier crust, though. I like a little more substance than the yellow cake mix gave. But this one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I did the cranberries the day before and it helped them to set at a gel consistency and were easier to spread evenly. Make sure you cook your berries down, really cook them down. Also, keep the layers of the crust thin. It really puffs up and can over power your berries if not careful. This was very rich for us and we found that serving it with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream made it a fabulous desert for our celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The tartness balances the sweetness. My family wouldn't touch it if I told them if it was cranberries; so they tell me great cherry bars, mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
OMG soo good. i'm not a sweet eater but these were just heavenly!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I served these as a Thanksgiving dessert this year, and everyone loved them. I took the advice of others and used a can of whole cranberry sauce instead of making my own. It probably could have gone a few minutes longer in the oven, but it was hard to judge if they were done or not because of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I zested 1 orange and used its juice and water to make the 3/4 c for the cranberry sauce, 10 min cooking is fine. After cooking just place pan in sink filled with 3" cold water- it will cool very quickly that way and thicken. To the cake mixture, decreased butter to 2/3 c, 2 eggs, and used quick oats(didn't have rolled), only 1/2 c br sugar, 2 t. cinnamon, no ginger. Then use the butter wrapper to press down the dough mixture into the pan (it won't stick) and use wrapper again to press the remaining dough into flat pieces to place over the cranberry mixture. 35 min was perfect in my oven. Cool completely and it will cut beautifully. Great fall dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Turned out excellent. I used 1 can of whole cranberries instead of using cranberries, water and sugar, and they turned out great!!! Took them to work and they were a hit. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Little Eggs
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
really, really good! added pecans. might try raspberry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States