Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I LOVE the cranberry flavor of these bars, but the consistency of mine were more like a cobbler. Delicious, but not really a bar cookie. I may have screwed up, I'll freely admit, but I think for cookies next time I'll use something other than cake mix--I'd rather use an oatmeal crumb type mix for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Just okay. My bars wouldn't hold together, less like a bar and more like a crumble or crisp. I used Orange Cake Mix which made a nice flavor combination though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
One of my favorite Christmas recipes...I always cut the sugar though...the cake mix is so sweet that you don't really need much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These were awesome. I shared them with quite a few people and never met any resistance in coming in for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Tasty, with a slightly "holiday" flavor, thought they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good. Glad there was a little bit of healthy involved...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Excellent just as is. Given out this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this was very good, a bit too much sugar. it may have been the cake mix though. i will try again with a less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Devine and very easy! I didn't have cranberries on hand, but I did have some leftover thawed frozen mixed berries which I strained and mixed with sugar for the topping. These are sweet and nutty; very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I think I just gave myself a stomachache from eating too many of these.. These came out so delicious! I can't seem to stop eating another piece. Unlike other reviewers I couldn't really taste the cake mix in them. (I used Pillsbury, maybe that helped?) But it did take me longer than I expected to press the cookie parts into the pan. Very sticky. I found it helpful for the top part to take a piece of dough, mash it flat in my palms, and then place it on top the cranberry sauce. I'll definitely make this one again. Maybe just not eat half a pan by myself next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States