Cranberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Fantastic bars! My 8yo son loves these, and they're great for packing in lunches. Allow the filling to cool, use "real" oats (not quick-cook), drop the topping by very small spoonfuls (it will be gooey), and be sure to let the finished bars cool in the pan for at least 2-3 hours for easy removal. They also freeze great. I can't wait to try them with raspberries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made these for one of our Christmas desserts and they were delcious. I made a simple powdered sugar glaze - laced with a few drops of Orange Oil - to drizzle on the top of each bar. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made these when I wanted to do something different with the cranberries I had. I thought they were good but didn't realize how good until I took them to work. They were such a hit, several coworkers are asking me to make it again. Some even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Dunagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I tried this as a new addition to my Christmas baking and found it very disappointing. The flavor of the cake mix overwhelmed the filling and it just did not have a pleasant texture. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
These were delicious. Everyone who tried them loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestlove0628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are great HUGE TIP!!! : One thing I have learned from professional bakers ( 5 ***** chefs) is that when it comes to BAKING, Never use off label items only use the best ingredients down to the last grain of sugar. There is a HUGE difference in the way things turn out and if you like to bake as much as I do you understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homebaker66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Yummy. the only reason I am giving this a 4 star is I have tweeked it just a bit, I didn't have yellow cake mix so used french vanilla and had a 16oz bag frozen cranberries & just used that, decided to add a splash of almond flavoring to the batter (maybe a teaspoon). I decided to drizzle some powdered sugar icing over it. We let it cool just a bit and had it with icecream. Hubby loved it, this is a keeper,,,oh this is the first time I am rating a recipe Thanks so much for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this last year for coworkers and they have been asking for it since. I used the Costco size bag of cranberries 32oz., so I would be able to make more than one batch. So I increased the water to 1 3/4 cup water with 1/4 cup orange juice with pulp, also added a cinnamon stick, plus a sprinkle of ground cinnamon, and kept the sugar at 1 cup. Made the day before so it could cool and gel. I like oatmeal so put 1 1/2 cups oatmeal and also 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. Bake for the 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very Good, not even a cranberry fan but tastes delicious. Cranberries aren't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious! Make sure to cook your cranberries down to a jelly consistency so they make a suitable filling. Let them cool before you cut them or the filling will ooze out. They do get a bit chewy the next day but are still delicious. These would be great warmed up with some vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States