Cranberry Banana Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
i used whole wheat white flour, added just a touch of vanilla extract and used almost all organic ingredients. I took a previous reviewers advice and added in about a half cup (maybe more) of chopped pecans. I thought this was perfect. All the ingredient measurements were spot on, which I really appreciate. I actually made muffins out of this recipe (we're more of a muffin family than a loaf family) and I got twelve muffins that were a little on the bigger side. Right before baking, I pushed in a couple extra cranberries into the top of each muffin and sprinkled just a little extra chopped pecans on top. These baked up wonderfully and both kids and husband really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Since I didn't have the exact ingredients, I did a little custominzing: 1 cup fresh cranberries, 1 cup banana, 1/4 cup applesauce, 2 tbsp whipped cream cheese, 1/3 cup canola oil. Still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I can easily give this one 5 stars based on the fact that I accidentally left the butter out and it was still very good. It must be that the banana, sour cream and egg made up for that shortfall. So yes, I will make this one again and be sure not to forget the butter as I'm sure it's even MORE flavorful and light with it. I used fresh cranberries that needed to be used up which increased the tartness, and one thing I would add would be walnuts. Thanks for giving us a nice change from typical banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kelly22
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is my favorite banana bread recipe. It's a nice changeup from regular old banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This surprised me. I had thought the amount of cranberries to be too much. I was wrong as the loaf is excellent. Next time I make it I will add 1 half cup of baked pecans chopped into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This REALLY IS, a good recipe. Looks as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very bland, could've used some more sugar. Won't be baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is good. I used wheat flour, 1/3 cup of applesauce instead of butter, brown sugar and 2 small-medium bananas. I made muffins, and they turned out very heavy and dense. The addition of cranberries made it the perfect sweetness. I would have given it 4 stars if it wasnt so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
That is some yummy banana bread! I "healthyfied" the recipe and used whole-wheat flour, applesauce instead of butter and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. The bread is moist and the tartness of the cranberries compliments well the sweetness of the bananas. Will sure make that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
used this recipe for muffins, they were amazing! i used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and added 1/4 cup extra mashed bananas . also added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States