Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I really enjoyed these muffins. I did change a few things. Sweetened applesauce was used. Butter was used instead of vegetable oil. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, I used frozen cranberries. I was really pleased with the final product. I will make these muffins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I think these need a little more sugar with the tartness of the cranberries, but my Mom thought they were perfect! The muffins are delicious and will be great with some honey or jelly. I think I'll take a note from jungle jean's suggestion of blueberries and add them with the cranberries next time. I used Holiday Cranberry Applesauce from this site; it includes red hot candies in the ingredients, and it made the muffins a little pink! I left out the nuts. Great recipe, and one I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Substituted whole wheat flour for half of the flour, walnuts instead of cranberries and pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon. Best. Muffins. Ever. Healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe as stated. These muffins are horrible. Cranberries are far too bitter for this base. Blueberries would have been a better choice. I didn't like, my husband didn't like and neither did my son. Substitute the cranberries for a sweeter berry and you'll have a good muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I just made these and they are now my favorite muffin ever! And I love muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I thought these were very good with the changes I made. I used homemade applesuace and about 2/3 can cranberry sauce with a hand full of dried cranberries. I also used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. I didn't use any sugar because the applesauce was very sweet. These came out very moist and light. I will diffently make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This has become my favourite muffin recipe! I love the dense texture - great for a mini meal on a long hike. I increased the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp and use half white flour, half multi-grain for a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe was perfect for what I wanted them for! I love using applesauce in recipes. I used egg replacer istead of egg to make them vegan, and dehydrated cranberries instead of frozen. I think that the frozen would definitely be preferred, as the ones I used did not make the muffins very tart at all. Which was kind of sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
joyce from CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amajan
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I thought these were great! I made mine with sweetened applesauce and I think that added a bit to the overall flavor. I also used chopped walnuts instead of pecans. I would definitely make again. Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amajan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States