Cranberry Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I was expecting these to be a lot sweeter than they were. The cranberries were so tart and even the dough part isn't sweet. They made my mouth pucker everytime I took a bite. I won't be making these again. For anyone trying these, substitute sweetened applesauce and sweetened cranberries, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Good, basic applesauce muffin recipe that can be adjusted to your liking... I used half wheat flour half white, half brown sugar half white, almonds, less cranberry, and some rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I really enjoyed these muffins. I did change a few things. Sweetened applesauce was used. Butter was used instead of vegetable oil. I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, I used frozen cranberries. I was really pleased with the final product. I will make these muffins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I think these need a little more sugar with the tartness of the cranberries, but my Mom thought they were perfect! The muffins are delicious and will be great with some honey or jelly. I think I'll take a note from jungle jean's suggestion of blueberries and add them with the cranberries next time. I used Holiday Cranberry Applesauce from this site; it includes red hot candies in the ingredients, and it made the muffins a little pink! I left out the nuts. Great recipe, and one I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Substituted whole wheat flour for half of the flour, walnuts instead of cranberries and pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon. Best. Muffins. Ever. Healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe as stated. These muffins are horrible. Cranberries are far too bitter for this base. Blueberries would have been a better choice. I didn't like, my husband didn't like and neither did my son. Substitute the cranberries for a sweeter berry and you'll have a good muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I just made these and they are now my favorite muffin ever! And I love muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I thought these were very good with the changes I made. I used homemade applesuace and about 2/3 can cranberry sauce with a hand full of dried cranberries. I also used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. I didn't use any sugar because the applesauce was very sweet. These came out very moist and light. I will diffently make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This has become my favourite muffin recipe! I love the dense texture - great for a mini meal on a long hike. I increased the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp and use half white flour, half multi-grain for a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe was perfect for what I wanted them for! I love using applesauce in recipes. I used egg replacer istead of egg to make them vegan, and dehydrated cranberries instead of frozen. I think that the frozen would definitely be preferred, as the ones I used did not make the muffins very tart at all. Which was kind of sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States