Cranberry Apple Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I tweaked it just a smidge: I added 1/2 c of chopped pecans, 6 oz can of mandarin orange segments (drained), and 3 tbsp of brown sugar. I have never made cranberry sauce from scratch before and was curious about how it would "gel"- all of those little berries popped and question answered! I put everything in a saucepan med flame for 10 min., stirred it up and: Fabulous! This will be my recipe from now on!! It is even better the next day. So this could be a day-before recipe too! Thanks so much for the submission!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I've always been a huge fan of canned cranberry sauce, but in the past few years I haven't bought a single can. This recipe is amazingly simple and amazingly delicious. I buy extra cranberries in November and December and freeze them just so I won't have to wait until fall to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I am always looking for good recipes that require little to no sugar, and this one worked out great! I made a few modifications- I added the juice and flesh of a sweet orange, and simmered the sauce on low til it broke down further than the berries bursting. No sugar was needed. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I couldn't believe how easy and delicious this recipes is. I did add sugar to mine, about 4 tablespoons. I plan on making it again at my next holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
I never liked cranberries before I tried this recipe 2 years old when I made thanksgiving dinner with my father in law (he can't have sugar) ANd I love it, now I will make every year. It also so easy. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very easy and healthy! It was great warm as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good! I totally misread the recipe and ended up using regular apple juice....wondered why it was so tart! I ended up adding agave nectar to it and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
My favorite Cranberry Sauce recipe!! It is very flavorful. Made it exactly as the recipe suggested. I love the apple flavor mixed in with the cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I also added some chopped up apples... yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was tart, but I hate my cranberry sauce sweet so it was perfect for me. My guests prefer it sweeter so you can easily just add a tbl spoon of sugar. Simple and this is how I'll prepare my cranberry sauce from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States