Cranberry Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Wonderful Pie! I used rolled oats instead of the flour because I like that kind of crunch top...but other than I left as is. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KOOLMOM84
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was the first time I have cooked with whole cranberries and choosing this recipe was perfect. The only change I made was the previously suggested oats instead of bread crumbs and that made it ideal. I did everything else just as the recipe says and we love it!! I will definately be making this pie again very soon. I am on the lookout for cranberries on sale in my local gracery store. Kimm 12/22/07 I just finshed making this pie for the second time and have only adjusted the sugar down to 1 cup from 1.25 cups. I am using this pie to barter for tamales for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This turned out pretty good. I made the filling as indicated, but used frozen piecrusts for the bottom and top crusts. It was slight more tart than I expected (even with all the sugar). I think next time I will replace the maple syrup with Karo syrup, as I think the maple adds a slight odd note to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Recipe was delicious. I also found it made enough filling for two 9" pie crusts. A must have with vanilla icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was a great recipe. I was looking for something a little different from your traditional cranberry apple pie and this definately fit the bill. I altered the recipe a little bit, these are the things I changed: - I used about 1/2 of the sugar called for (it was sweet enough like that) - I used 1/3 cup maple syrup to give it a little more maple taste - I used pecans instead of walnuts - I didn't use the topping, but topped it with another pie crust. I did not have any problems with it being too much as some of the other reviews, it was just the right size. Even my husband who doesn't like cranberries liked this pie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I liked the filling of this pie, but the breadcrumbs on top was strange and there seemed too be way too much crumb topping. This was very easy to make, but I think I will just put another crust on top next time, or try the oats like other reviewers suggest. I give the filling 5 stars but as written I give the recipe a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving and its wonderful. I use quick oats instead of breadcrumbs in the topping and less flour. Similar to the topping for an apple crisp. If you like traditional apple pie, you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I baked this as a fruit crumble/cobbler, and it was delicious! To save on calories and time, I topped the fruit with oats, brown sugar, margarine, wheat germ, and a little maple syrup. I made the filling as the recipe said, just adding a little lemon juice to the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I thought this was pretty good, although I would make a few changes the next time I make it. I used 3 granny smith, 3 golden delicious and 1 gala and I thought that was a perfect amount for the filling. I would halve the amount of topping I made, threw out a lot of it. I would not add much sugar to the cranberry mixture, just my preference but I dont usually put sugar in my apple pies. I would also tweak the topping a bit, make it more interesting. Maybe use oats, not breadcrumbs, and turn it into more of a crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This is yummy! It's more like a twist on apple crisp than apple pie, in my opinion. I wasn't sure I was going to like it because I scorched the sugar a bit while cooking it, which gave everything a not-so-appetizing smell. I used 6 2-1/2" Macintosh apples and had just the right amount of filling. I added extra sugar to the crumb topping because I used whole wheat flour and breadcrumbs, and it turned out delicious - I used up the leftovers on oatmeal. The combination of apples, cranberries, and walnuts in this dish is great. It was good warm with vanilla ice cream, but I preferred it cold the next night. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States