Cranberry Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years. However, I make mine with 1 tsp of cornstarch instead of flour and omit the cinnamon and nutmeg from the pie and put it in the topping. We really prefer a crumb top on this pie. It really compliments the apple/cranberry filling. Here is my recipe for a crumb top: 1 c all purpose flour, 1/2 c packed brown sugar, 1/3 c old-fashioned oats, 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 c chilled unsalted butter cut into small pieces. Rub in butter with fingertips or process w/food processor until mixture resembles coarse meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
this is the easiest Cranberry Apple pie i've ever made. This will be my fourth thanksgiving baking this pie and its a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
So simple, and turned out very well with great flavor. Added extra spices to taste, ground cloves, and sprinkled a layer of toasted chopped walnuts on the bottom of the pie before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Thanks for this great recipe. I don't ever make pies, but my church was having an apple pie contest, and I won first prize with this recipe. Again thanks for sharing. We had 3 people get saved that day at church. (not because of the pie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I did change from a pastry topping to a crumb topping and added pecans to both the filling and topping, which my family liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Spectacular! I also used a crumb topping. Was a huge hit at both parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I thought the first time I made it that it wasn't quite cranberry enough, so I usually add another half can or so and up the spice levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was really good. It got rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner. My sister's boyfriend (a very picky eater) said it was the best apple pie he has ever had. Very easy to make. Makes a ton of filling so make sure to place the pie pan on a cookie sheet to catch any spill over. Consistency was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This pie was definitely a hit at our Thanksgiving this year. I was a little nervous since I didn't have time for a "test pie" before the big day, but it turned out great. I officially have a new favorite apple pie recipe, and I'll probably even make it again for Christmas. Just fyi, I used all six apples, 2 granny smith and 4 golden delicious, but next time I'm tempted to up the number of granny smiths. The pie wasn't nearly as tart as I thought it might be. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
this is a pretty easy pie to make, few ingredients needed. I found it to be too sweet and if I were to make this again I would not add the brown sugar. I also used a crumb topping that contained brown sugar adding to the sweetness. The cranberry sauce had enough sugar and personally I feel that no other sugar is needed in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States