Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Came across pie this looking for a way to use my fuji apples. I did have extra filling & topping that I baked as a crisp. Both were very good! I added chopped walnuts to the topping for a little texture but changed nothing else. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made it last Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it got RAVE reviews-absolutely wonderful. I followed other reviews and baked it at 350 for about an hour, then turned off the oven and left the pie in the oven for about another 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Only changed a few things: I used a couple store bought pie crusts (baked for 10 mins & then filled)- after pie was filled I placed aluminum foil around edges to prevent burning, did NOT use the egg, and bumped up the temperature to 350 for about 80 mins after reading the reviews (glad I did!). Everything else was as written and WONDERFUL! Got RAVE reviews from all the guys at Elk Camp! It heaps up in 2 pie crusts but does bake down so don't be scared of using the whole bunch of apples. I used 6 LARGE granny smith apples and it was just delish! In fact this was my future daughter-in-law's 1st pie she ever made (with just a little help from me) and she loved it so much she made it again for an early Thanksgiving dinner! I am going to make this tonight, but I am omitting the pie crust & adding Oats to the topping for an apple crisp! Can't wait! What a versatile recipe! Super easy & YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherMom247

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I used the filling in the recipe to make 12 little individual apple crisps that you bake in 1/2 pint glass jars. I added 1/4 cup of flour instead of the tapioca and also added 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspooon cinnamon. I'm glad I read the reviews and followed the advice to use only half the amount of cranberries, it would have been way too tart. And there is no need to go through the hassle of trying to chop them. For the topping I added a 1/2 cup of quick oats. I baked at 375 for 30 minutes. It turned out to be a cute, little, rustic dessert. cute,little, rustic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
AMAZING. Made this for Thanksgiving last year. It is a great twist on traditional apple pie. I really appreciated the less sicky sweet taste than other apple pies, the cranberries added great taste and color. I used 6 large granny smiths in my pie which was also a contributing factor to taste. The pie was sweet, but still tasted somewhat light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
To die for! Love the apple cranberry combo. My only changes were adding a teaspoon of cinnamon and half teaspoon of salt to apple mixture. I think it made it slightly more rich. Also, I didn't have any tapioca on hand so I tossed 2-3 tablespoons of cornstarch with the apples and this worked well to thicken with the gummy texture some reviewers said the tapioca gave. Unlike other reviews I was able to fit ALL of the filling and topping in the pie even with using the whole bag of cranberries. It definitely makes a big pie but obviously not too big because nothing ran over in the oven. Using all the filling made the pie big and rounded which actually made it quite beautiful if you want an impressive looking pie. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeysoda
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Pretty good. I followed the recipe loosely. Just wanted to use up some cranberry sauce which I had made for Thanksgiving. Used about 2 large granny smith apples, which i sprinkled with some cinnamon sugar. Then my cranberry sauce (the oranged cranberry sauce from this site), which I had put some chopped walnuts in. Had a little trouble with the putting the top crust on, b/c it kept breaking on me, but i tried my best. Then I brushed on some beaten egg and sprinkled with a little more cinnamon sugar. It turned out a lovely golden shade. Was more delicious after a day or two in the fridge, and the walnuts from my sauce made all the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeysoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I used 3 jonagold apples, 6 oz. of cranberries sliced in half, and 3/4 c. white sugar for the filling. I thickened with the whole 1/3 c. tapioca, but will reduce that next time to 3 Tablespoons. I didn't know if the filling would seep out, so didn't pile it to high (about 1 inch above the rim). I had no problems with seepage, so would heap more filling in next time. This time even though I had halved the filling called for in the recipe, I still had enough to make a small crisp with the leftover filling and streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States