Cranberry Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a version of this for my weddnig reception (made ahead and froze) However I used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of the fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought this pie was pretty good. It turned out very red due to the cranberries. Mine was also a little dry. I guess I prefer more filling in pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My husband loved it! I'm not a big fan of cranberries but this pie was great. I followed a different crust recipe that used frozen butter and shortning. What a diffrenece, the crust was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Very Good. Brought it to work and it was devoured! I thought it had too many cranberries in it which made it tart, but if that is what you like then this is your pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
My family loved this pie! It had the perfect blend of sweet/tart taste. Based on others reviews, I used only 4 apples & 1/2 pkg (6oz) of cranberries, and it was plenty! It filled one 9" store bought deep-dish pie crust, and had enough filling leftover to fill 6 tart shells. I added chopped walnuts to the streusel topping which tasted great. Before baking, I wrapped foil around the edge of the crust so it wouldn't burn during the baking which allowed the topping to get nice and brown & crisp. Excellent. I will be making another one for Christmas using the other half package of cranberries I have waiting for me in the freezer. Thanks Blythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WOW! This is really yummy. Not sure if I am loving the walnuts though. I think pecans may go better. Also, the filling is enough for almost 2 pies. Next time I will use one 9" "deep dish" pie crust or cut the recipe down if I use a regular 9".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Wow! Best pie I've ever made! My pies NEVER come out right. I made about 5 at Christmas and every one of them turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Like others, I found that this recipe made a ridiculous amount of filling. I made one deep dish pie, and just threw the rest of the filling into a casserole dish to make a very large crisp. I only ended up using 5 apples and still had this much filling. Way too much topping too. Another thing...chopping the cranberries was an unneccessary pain, and I think it would have turned out nicer if I'd left them whole. But, complaints aside, it did taste really great. I have to say though that the crisp tasted better than the pie. The pie crust almost seemed to get in the way. Will make again as a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
The cranberries turned the filling pink and made for a pretty presentation. Served it to relatives at Thanksgiving, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I thought it was a very good pie, we enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States