Cranberry Apple-Nut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Really disappointed. I made as stated except reduced the sugar because of reviews to 1 1/2c. It was still way to sweet. The sugar seemed as if it didn't dissolve. I mixed very well & even cut up the cranberries. I think I'll suggest warming it in micro & adding some lite vanilla ice cream to see if it reduces the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I agree with one reviewer who said this was too sweet. I did use tart granny smith (the fresh ones which are even more tart) and fresh cranberries (used all 12 oz.) but the pie still turned out very sweet. I also should have increased the amount of flour as I added a little more cranberries than the recipe called for. Next time, I will decrease the amount of sugar, still use all 12 oz. of cranberries (1 bag) and add 2 Tbs. or more of flour to make sure all the juices absorb. The flavor combination was good so I plan on making it again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic! I should have pulsed the cranberries a little longer in the food processor, since some bites were way more tart than I like -- but after a day, the tartness mellowed. The almonds added fantastic texture. The other change I made was not to use a double pie crust (didn't have a 2nd), but the crumb topping that appeared in Maxine Theriauit's Cranberry-Almond Apple Pie -- I should have used more butter, but other than that, great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is my favorite pie recipe. It is a little on the sweet side, which is why I gave it a 4. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wow, this is way too sweet. The almonds (which are normally a hit with me) didn't work well with this, the texture was distracting. There's too much going on in this pie and though my boyfriend tolerated it, I won't be making it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was an excellent pie if you like spices - it tastes like like the best Potpourri smells. I used chopped almonds so it had a little more of a crunch in each bite and doubled the cinnamon. In addition to the orange peel I added a healthy squeeze of the orange, fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My DH and I both loved this pie. It had just the right mix to be very tasty. I changed the almonds to pecans as that was what I had on hand. I added more cinnamon and used 2 cups of apples. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States