Cranberry Apple-Nut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Really disappointed. I made as stated except reduced the sugar because of reviews to 1 1/2c. It was still way to sweet. The sugar seemed as if it didn't dissolve. I mixed very well & even cut up the cranberries. I think I'll suggest warming it in micro & adding some lite vanilla ice cream to see if it reduces the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I agree with one reviewer who said this was too sweet. I did use tart granny smith (the fresh ones which are even more tart) and fresh cranberries (used all 12 oz.) but the pie still turned out very sweet. I also should have increased the amount of flour as I added a little more cranberries than the recipe called for. Next time, I will decrease the amount of sugar, still use all 12 oz. of cranberries (1 bag) and add 2 Tbs. or more of flour to make sure all the juices absorb. The flavor combination was good so I plan on making it again with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic! I should have pulsed the cranberries a little longer in the food processor, since some bites were way more tart than I like -- but after a day, the tartness mellowed. The almonds added fantastic texture. The other change I made was not to use a double pie crust (didn't have a 2nd), but the crumb topping that appeared in Maxine Theriauit's Cranberry-Almond Apple Pie -- I should have used more butter, but other than that, great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is my favorite pie recipe. It is a little on the sweet side, which is why I gave it a 4. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wow, this is way too sweet. The almonds (which are normally a hit with me) didn't work well with this, the texture was distracting. There's too much going on in this pie and though my boyfriend tolerated it, I won't be making it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was an excellent pie if you like spices - it tastes like like the best Potpourri smells. I used chopped almonds so it had a little more of a crunch in each bite and doubled the cinnamon. In addition to the orange peel I added a healthy squeeze of the orange, fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My DH and I both loved this pie. It had just the right mix to be very tasty. I changed the almonds to pecans as that was what I had on hand. I added more cinnamon and used 2 cups of apples. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States