Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I had an overabundance of apples and was also so pleased to see that there were cranberries in this, as I also had a package of cranberries in the crisper from thanksgiving that needed to be used. I made both bread and muffins(doubled the recipe) and they were sooo moist!!! After reading other reviews, I read the proportions of ingredients and was quite perplexed as to how this was going to turn out. There did seem to be a bigger proportion of dry ingredients to the liquid. The adjustments I made were: I added the sugar and salt to the apples first to leech out the juice. I also added just a splash of orange juice (maybe two tbsp) and grated some orange rind. I immediately wrapped the bread when it cooled and put in fridge and put the muffins in a plastic container with lid. I couldn't resist the muffins so tried them about an hour later; the bread in the fridge until the next day. Both were so moist and there was no crumbling at all. I think alot depends on the type of apple. When I started slicing into what I had(red delicious) they were quite juicy so I am sure that helped. I also added a bit more cinnamon and a half tsp of nutmeg to the DOUBLE batch I made; would use a quarter tsp. to the single recipe. I also added a tsp of vanilla. I have this bookmarked as I will be using this one again. Presentation is also beautiful with the whole cranberries and chunks of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Hi Teresa. Great recipe! I couldn't wait overnight to bake this bread. Baking at the time of mixing, it turned out perfectly. Very flavorful and attractive presentation. I'm not sure what the reviewers are doing wrong who believe it needs more liquid. This recipe makes a very stiff batter rather than a soupy one, but coming out of the oven, it is perfect! Next time I'm going to try a little extra cinnamon and about 3/4t salt. But that's just my experimental nature! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I have to agree with the reviewer who only got crumbs. There is not enough liquid in this recipe to make a batter. I had to add more, and even then, there was way more fruit and nuts than "batter." Perhaps the secret lies in letting the apples sit in the sugar for a long time, thus drawing out their juices? Maybe that's the secret, and why it works to freeze this recipe before baking. That would give enough time for the apple juices to saturate the flour mixture. Definitely a wierd recipe. The bread itself tastes fine, but doesn't hold together all that well. I still only give this recipe one star, if left as is. If somehow more liquid were added, or instructions were added to let the apples and sugar sit for a hour or so, I'd give it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Did I do something wrong?? I followed the directions and came out with batter that didn't have enough liquid...crumbly dry. Tried to press it into my bread pan and bake but didn't rise like bread or anything!! Had to throw it out..maybe I did something wrong, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I LOVE this recipe! I made it for a Christmas party this year and everyone loved it. It was so good I ended up making some for gifts. For a pretty variation, I doubled the recipe and put it in my springform bundt pan. After putting it on a pretty serving plate, I drizzled a confectioner's sugar glaze over the top. Everyone raved about this new holiday "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Really good bread..I made it in my mini loaf pan and it came out great..I also always add some extra vanilla..and a dash more cinnamon..Very good ... K F (Brampton,On Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for white flour and cooked it 5 minutes longer - delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Found this recipe to be absolutely delicious!just needed to add a little bit extra liquid...(I used apple juice....turned out lovely...!)recommend it to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
love the taste of the fall harvest. family faverit, thank;s for bringing this to our thankgiving table. God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I used a mixture of pears and apples since that is what I had on hand and it got rave reviews. I liked making the batter ahead of time, then thawing and baking it like Teresa suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States