Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Great! The batter seemed a bit dry so I used about 2 big tbsp of plain yogurt (had no juice or milk but this worked perfectly). Used 1/2 cup brown sugar and a tbsp or so of white sugar (all the sugar I had on hand). Came out moist and not too sweet. Definitely more cinnamon next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
My boss served a yummy Cranberry Apple bread at a recent luncheon. I raved about it, but it was clear she wasn't going to share the recipe. Instead I visited this site and was not at all disappointed. This bread is moist and delicious! It was not dry during the prep or the eating! (I used Courtland apples which I find to be nice and juicy for recipes.) Thanks for a great recipe, Teresa S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
After reading the reviews of others, I was skeptical of trying this recipe. I changed it a bit by chopping the fresh cranberries, adding 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 cup orange juice. It took 55 minutes to bake through. I'll probably not make this recipe again because there are other cranberry nut bread recipes I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very good! I used dried cranberries that I plumped up in some hot water! I would add some more cinnamon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Delicious -- but I did have to make a few changes. Like others, I found the batter too dry so I added 1/3 cup of milk. Also, I baked it in muffin pans and got 12 good-sized muffins from this recipe. Next time I make it (and it will be soon), I will cut down on the sugar....I think 1/2 cup would be more than enough. All said, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Hi Teresa. Great recipe! I couldn't wait overnight to bake this bread. Baking at the time of mixing, it turned out perfectly. Very flavorful and attractive presentation. I'm not sure what the reviewers are doing wrong who believe it needs more liquid. This recipe makes a very stiff batter rather than a soupy one, but coming out of the oven, it is perfect! Next time I'm going to try a little extra cinnamon and about 3/4t salt. But that's just my experimental nature! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I LOVE this recipe! I made it for a Christmas party this year and everyone loved it. It was so good I ended up making some for gifts. For a pretty variation, I doubled the recipe and put it in my springform bundt pan. After putting it on a pretty serving plate, I drizzled a confectioner's sugar glaze over the top. Everyone raved about this new holiday "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Found this recipe to be absolutely delicious!just needed to add a little bit extra liquid...(I used apple juice....turned out lovely...!)recommend it to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I have to agree with the reviewer who only got crumbs. There is not enough liquid in this recipe to make a batter. I had to add more, and even then, there was way more fruit and nuts than "batter." Perhaps the secret lies in letting the apples sit in the sugar for a long time, thus drawing out their juices? Maybe that's the secret, and why it works to freeze this recipe before baking. That would give enough time for the apple juices to saturate the flour mixture. Definitely a wierd recipe. The bread itself tastes fine, but doesn't hold together all that well. I still only give this recipe one star, if left as is. If somehow more liquid were added, or instructions were added to let the apples and sugar sit for a hour or so, I'd give it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Really good bread..I made it in my mini loaf pan and it came out great..I also always add some extra vanilla..and a dash more cinnamon..Very good ... K F (Brampton,On Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States