Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Having read the other reviews, I was not surprised to find the batter VERY dry. The addition of about 1/2 c water a T at a time was necessary. I really didn't measure my cinnamon, just added it until it looked good. The end product was a FANTASTIC full-flavored moist muffin. I took them to a family Thanksgiving dinner ad the raved about them. the cranberr/apple combo was glorious. No additional sugar was required and the cranberries were a pleasant contrast to the sweet Empire apples. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Followed this recipe to a T and it was drier than a bone. The apples were not soft and the top of the bread was brown, very tasteless to boot. I used Granny Smith apples. Dont know what the problem was but I definetly won't be making this again, threw the whole loaf in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe. I went a bit heavier on the apples and used half whole wheat flour. Left out the nuts. Came out great--moist, crunchy on top. Would also be good as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this bread. It was moist and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I am not a very experienced baker, but I love cranberries, so I decided to try this bread. Thought it was a little odd that there was barely enough batter to stick the berries, apples, and nuts together. But it came out great! Not too crumbly (or not any more so than you'd expect). I made it once using frozen cranberries and another time using dried ones that I soaked for a while to rehydrate them; the dried cranberries made it a little sweeter so it might be best to use those if you don't like the tartness of fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
The dough was moist enough, but biting into bitter/tart cranberries was very unpleasant! Maybe chopping them would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Make this only to make your kitchen smell good, but don't feed it to anyone. It was so terribly bland and the fruit didn't mesh and taste the way I thought they would. This needed a lot more sugar than the recipe calls for. Also, the inside of the bread fell away from the crust when I checked for doneness. All in all, just awful and a waste of fresh cranberries. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I had an overabundance of apples and was also so pleased to see that there were cranberries in this, as I also had a package of cranberries in the crisper from thanksgiving that needed to be used. I made both bread and muffins(doubled the recipe) and they were sooo moist!!! After reading other reviews, I read the proportions of ingredients and was quite perplexed as to how this was going to turn out. There did seem to be a bigger proportion of dry ingredients to the liquid. The adjustments I made were: I added the sugar and salt to the apples first to leech out the juice. I also added just a splash of orange juice (maybe two tbsp) and grated some orange rind. I immediately wrapped the bread when it cooled and put in fridge and put the muffins in a plastic container with lid. I couldn't resist the muffins so tried them about an hour later; the bread in the fridge until the next day. Both were so moist and there was no crumbling at all. I think alot depends on the type of apple. When I started slicing into what I had(red delicious) they were quite juicy so I am sure that helped. I also added a bit more cinnamon and a half tsp of nutmeg to the DOUBLE batch I made; would use a quarter tsp. to the single recipe. I also added a tsp of vanilla. I have this bookmarked as I will be using this one again. Presentation is also beautiful with the whole cranberries and chunks of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I want to make this to take into work on Christmas Eve so this was a test run. I omitted the walnuts as a couple of my colleagues are allergic and I wanted to make sure it would work without. I also shredded the apples and let the wet ingredients stand for 15 minutes. The batter was quite stiff but not dry. It slices well and is very moist looks lovely too.The only thing I may do is add a little more cinnamon but I will defnitely be making this for Christmas Eve. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! I followed the recipe as listed (omitting the walnuts)and it was perfectly firm and moist. I let the wet ingredients set together for about 15 minutes before I mixed everything together and though sticky, the dough was not at all dry. This will be a holiday staple in our family. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States