Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Make this only to make your kitchen smell good, but don't feed it to anyone. It was so terribly bland and the fruit didn't mesh and taste the way I thought they would. This needed a lot more sugar than the recipe calls for. Also, the inside of the bread fell away from the crust when I checked for doneness. All in all, just awful and a waste of fresh cranberries. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I had an overabundance of apples and was also so pleased to see that there were cranberries in this, as I also had a package of cranberries in the crisper from thanksgiving that needed to be used. I made both bread and muffins(doubled the recipe) and they were sooo moist!!! After reading other reviews, I read the proportions of ingredients and was quite perplexed as to how this was going to turn out. There did seem to be a bigger proportion of dry ingredients to the liquid. The adjustments I made were: I added the sugar and salt to the apples first to leech out the juice. I also added just a splash of orange juice (maybe two tbsp) and grated some orange rind. I immediately wrapped the bread when it cooled and put in fridge and put the muffins in a plastic container with lid. I couldn't resist the muffins so tried them about an hour later; the bread in the fridge until the next day. Both were so moist and there was no crumbling at all. I think alot depends on the type of apple. When I started slicing into what I had(red delicious) they were quite juicy so I am sure that helped. I also added a bit more cinnamon and a half tsp of nutmeg to the DOUBLE batch I made; would use a quarter tsp. to the single recipe. I also added a tsp of vanilla. I have this bookmarked as I will be using this one again. Presentation is also beautiful with the whole cranberries and chunks of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I want to make this to take into work on Christmas Eve so this was a test run. I omitted the walnuts as a couple of my colleagues are allergic and I wanted to make sure it would work without. I also shredded the apples and let the wet ingredients stand for 15 minutes. The batter was quite stiff but not dry. It slices well and is very moist looks lovely too.The only thing I may do is add a little more cinnamon but I will defnitely be making this for Christmas Eve. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! I followed the recipe as listed (omitting the walnuts)and it was perfectly firm and moist. I let the wet ingredients set together for about 15 minutes before I mixed everything together and though sticky, the dough was not at all dry. This will be a holiday staple in our family. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Taking the advice of others, I added about 1/4 cup apple juice to the recipe. The bread smelled great while baking and looked beautiful before I tried to cut it. When trying to cut it, it just fell apart. And, there wasn't as much flavor as I thought there should be, even with additional cinnamon added when mixing the dough. Given the cut appearance (a mess!) and lack of flavor, I probably won't make this again unless someone can give me suggestions on improving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Great! The batter seemed a bit dry so I used about 2 big tbsp of plain yogurt (had no juice or milk but this worked perfectly). Used 1/2 cup brown sugar and a tbsp or so of white sugar (all the sugar I had on hand). Came out moist and not too sweet. Definitely more cinnamon next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
My boss served a yummy Cranberry Apple bread at a recent luncheon. I raved about it, but it was clear she wasn't going to share the recipe. Instead I visited this site and was not at all disappointed. This bread is moist and delicious! It was not dry during the prep or the eating! (I used Courtland apples which I find to be nice and juicy for recipes.) Thanks for a great recipe, Teresa S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
After reading the reviews of others, I was skeptical of trying this recipe. I changed it a bit by chopping the fresh cranberries, adding 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 cup orange juice. It took 55 minutes to bake through. I'll probably not make this recipe again because there are other cranberry nut bread recipes I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very good! I used dried cranberries that I plumped up in some hot water! I would add some more cinnamon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Delicious -- but I did have to make a few changes. Like others, I found the batter too dry so I added 1/3 cup of milk. Also, I baked it in muffin pans and got 12 good-sized muffins from this recipe. Next time I make it (and it will be soon), I will cut down on the sugar....I think 1/2 cup would be more than enough. All said, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States