Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I keep going back and forth on this one, so it's hard for me to rate. First, like other reviewers, my batter was very crumbly, but I knew that with the amount of added fruit that moisture probably was not going to be an issue - the apples would release some juice as they baked. I was right - I ended up with an extremely moist loaf of bread. It smelled wonderful while baking and when it first came out of the oven, but something about the flavor was a bit off - as much as I love cranberry breads, the tartness of the cranberries was a little too much for me. I think I would have liked more bread, and a little less fruit, so to speak. One thing I will mention is it tasted better after sitting a while, so maybe tomorrow I'll enjoy it a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I really liked this bread, but my hubby wasn't a big fan. Luckily the rest of my family enjoyed it. It's really sweet and the cranberries add great color! I grate my apples to make the bread more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A wonderful recipe. I made a dozen muffins with the batter and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I just made this and it was wonderful! I replaced white flour with whole wheat. That is the only change I made. For those that complained about the mix being too dry...it is BREAD not cake! So don't excect it to have the consistency of cake batter. Also you should use very ripe apples not the green ones. That will make the moisture just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I think I might have used too many apples, but my loaf was overly fruity. I used the amount of fresh cranberries that it called for though, and I think that was a bit too many. Very very tart. As for overall flavor, great, and I didn't have any of the troubles others had with it being to dry, but I guess I did allow my apples and sugar to sit a bit while I measured out my dry ingredients. Great recipe though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is very good!! I did add a tsp of vanilla for flavor, then a splash of milk and also a splash of cranberry-apple juice that I ironically had in the fridge. The dough was sticky, but it baked well. I baked for 35 minutes. And I tripled the recipe to make one loaf of bread and some trays of muffins. Can't wait to bring these to the family on Thanksgiving! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I am sure that this recipe works for the submitter, but most of the people who rated this highly added liquid or did something not called for in the actual recipe. The taste is fine (not outrageously good, but fine), but the texture is crumbly and difficult to slice. My dog definitely would give it 5 stars, since a fair amount has ended up on the floor with two kids trying it. I think that there has to be a more flexible, easier recipe to try for the same ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I did as many of the reviewers said to add more liquid. It is still a bit crumbly but my husband said the kiddos don't get any...its all his! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designfly
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very tasty! The batter is thick like a cookie dough, but I wasn't scared and went ahead and followed directions. Came out wonderful! Didn't change a thing and I'm glad. I will definitely be making again One note: when I cut into it, it wasn't done. Needed more cooking time than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My friend and I each made this loaf and it was really good. I actually underbaked it unfortunately, so next time I'll bake a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States