Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for white flour and cooked it 5 minutes longer - delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Did I do something wrong?? I followed the directions and came out with batter that didn't have enough liquid...crumbly dry. Tried to press it into my bread pan and bake but didn't rise like bread or anything!! Had to throw it out..maybe I did something wrong, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
love the taste of the fall harvest. family faverit, thank;s for bringing this to our thankgiving table. God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I used a mixture of pears and apples since that is what I had on hand and it got rave reviews. I liked making the batter ahead of time, then thawing and baking it like Teresa suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Really good bread..I made it in my mini loaf pan and it came out great..I also always add some extra vanilla..and a dash more cinnamon..Very good ... K F (Brampton,On Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I have to agree with the reviewer who only got crumbs. There is not enough liquid in this recipe to make a batter. I had to add more, and even then, there was way more fruit and nuts than "batter." Perhaps the secret lies in letting the apples sit in the sugar for a long time, thus drawing out their juices? Maybe that's the secret, and why it works to freeze this recipe before baking. That would give enough time for the apple juices to saturate the flour mixture. Definitely a wierd recipe. The bread itself tastes fine, but doesn't hold together all that well. I still only give this recipe one star, if left as is. If somehow more liquid were added, or instructions were added to let the apples and sugar sit for a hour or so, I'd give it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Found this recipe to be absolutely delicious!just needed to add a little bit extra liquid...(I used apple juice....turned out lovely...!)recommend it to all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I LOVE this recipe! I made it for a Christmas party this year and everyone loved it. It was so good I ended up making some for gifts. For a pretty variation, I doubled the recipe and put it in my springform bundt pan. After putting it on a pretty serving plate, I drizzled a confectioner's sugar glaze over the top. Everyone raved about this new holiday "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Hi Teresa. Great recipe! I couldn't wait overnight to bake this bread. Baking at the time of mixing, it turned out perfectly. Very flavorful and attractive presentation. I'm not sure what the reviewers are doing wrong who believe it needs more liquid. This recipe makes a very stiff batter rather than a soupy one, but coming out of the oven, it is perfect! Next time I'm going to try a little extra cinnamon and about 3/4t salt. But that's just my experimental nature! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Delicious -- but I did have to make a few changes. Like others, I found the batter too dry so I added 1/3 cup of milk. Also, I baked it in muffin pans and got 12 good-sized muffins from this recipe. Next time I make it (and it will be soon), I will cut down on the sugar....I think 1/2 cup would be more than enough. All said, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States