Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I used a lot of information from earlier reviews...such as waiting to mix the apples with the dry ingredients so they'd give up some of their juices, except I didn't wait 15 minutes, it was more like 5. This has a really good flavor. I'm glad I chopped the apples up pretty small or I think it would have been harder to cut. I added a touch of salt like someone else suggested but that might make it brown too quickly on the outside because that appeared to be a problem. This is definately better than fruit cake. It would be perfect if it stayed together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This bread was fabulous. Made it for a church function and it was a hit. I made the following modifications: 2 whole chopped apples (peeled and cored, of course) rather than just 2 cups. 1 and a half cups of cranberries (for that extra kick!) Splenda for baking, which is half splenda, half sugar. The moistness and the sweetness come from the apples. I love that there is so little fat in this recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I like this recipe very much. It doesn't make a typical batter...pretty thick & needs to be spread out in the pan, but I didn't alter the recipe at all & the end result was very good. I LOVED the texture, very moist & dense & loaded w/ fruit & nuts. The cranberries make it pretty for the holidays & I think it's a great alternative to fruitcake. It does need a little "something", however. Next time I'll try adding 1/4 - 1/2 t. of salt & maybe a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Tried this for the first time this holiday season; it is delicious! Gave it as mini-loaves to teachers, etc., and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this bread for Christmas dinner, and had rave reviews. In fact, my grandmother _told_ me that I would be making it again today for her to take home. It was a very moist and yummy bread. Our family loves the tartness of cranberries with the sweetness of the bread. After reading previous reviews, I let the apples and sugar sit while I mixed the dry ingredients, and then added the oil and egg. Also, I added a little extra cinnamon, and some nutmeg. Wonderful recipe! Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Very good and moist but did soak the cranberries in the sugar for 5-10 mins to create juice and added it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I doubled the recipe so I could put in a bundt pan. It came out wonderful!!! I have given this recipe to several people and they loved the tartness of the cranberry. I first thought it was dry and was wondering how it was going to turn out, but it was great! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Yummy flavor but it didn't stay together well. I had to serve it in pieces instead of slices. No one minded it though because it was very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
After reading the reviews-I decided also to add orange juice to the batter-juice and zest from one orange-also added 1 tsp vanilla-and doubled the sugar-when done I poked holes in top of {cake} and poured on a hot orange syrup which made it so moist-was wonderful- the orange syrup I just cooked on top on stove-1 cup sugar and juice and zest of one large orange,cook about five minutes and pour on warm cake-also chopped the cranberries before adding to apples-thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States