Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I didn't find any problems with the batter. It was perfect! I used 2 ripe bananas instead of the oil which might have helped with the moistness of the batter. I made this as a quick breakfast for my household and everyone loved it! It was gone by the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great turnout, moist cake with crunchy top. Not too sweet bread. My friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I double all of my recipes and I have found that if the batter seems too stiff I add a couple more eggs. This is what I did with this recipe and it came out beautiful. Another plus to this recipe is that it only takes a scant half four to bake! It is a eco friendly recipe. My family loved it as I am sure yours will too. Also If you use graham flour or whole wheat flour sometimes your recipe will be crumbly and dry. So maybe you should use white or add an egg or two like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I agree w/other reviewers - quite dry and crumbly at first. I soaked the apples and cranberries in 1/3 c. apple cider and when I added it to the mix, crumbs became batter. Very very fruit-laden batter. Also, baked for about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I used a lot of information from earlier reviews...such as waiting to mix the apples with the dry ingredients so they'd give up some of their juices, except I didn't wait 15 minutes, it was more like 5. This has a really good flavor. I'm glad I chopped the apples up pretty small or I think it would have been harder to cut. I added a touch of salt like someone else suggested but that might make it brown too quickly on the outside because that appeared to be a problem. This is definately better than fruit cake. It would be perfect if it stayed together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This bread was fabulous. Made it for a church function and it was a hit. I made the following modifications: 2 whole chopped apples (peeled and cored, of course) rather than just 2 cups. 1 and a half cups of cranberries (for that extra kick!) Splenda for baking, which is half splenda, half sugar. The moistness and the sweetness come from the apples. I love that there is so little fat in this recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I like this recipe very much. It doesn't make a typical batter...pretty thick & needs to be spread out in the pan, but I didn't alter the recipe at all & the end result was very good. I LOVED the texture, very moist & dense & loaded w/ fruit & nuts. The cranberries make it pretty for the holidays & I think it's a great alternative to fruitcake. It does need a little "something", however. Next time I'll try adding 1/4 - 1/2 t. of salt & maybe a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Tried this for the first time this holiday season; it is delicious! Gave it as mini-loaves to teachers, etc., and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this bread for Christmas dinner, and had rave reviews. In fact, my grandmother _told_ me that I would be making it again today for her to take home. It was a very moist and yummy bread. Our family loves the tartness of cranberries with the sweetness of the bread. After reading previous reviews, I let the apples and sugar sit while I mixed the dry ingredients, and then added the oil and egg. Also, I added a little extra cinnamon, and some nutmeg. Wonderful recipe! Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States