Cranberry Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Even my fussy eater bf likes this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's midwinter and the air is very dry. I heeded the not enough liquid and added 1/4 cup milk, 1 tsp vanilla and and extra half T oil. Everyone loved it. Crisp sweet crust, moist inside. The 1/4 inch apple chunks were like apple pie. Next time I'm going to try half brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CVanwieren
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this on Thanksgiving morning and brought it over to my mother's house since she enjoys the breakfast bread from Publix. She absolutely loves it. She has requested for me to bring it every time I come over now. After hearing a few people's problems with liquid, I let the apples and sugar sit for an hour to bring out the juices. After that, I continued the recipe as directed, with the exception of chopping up the cranberries in a food processor. It was moist and delicious. I actually had to bake the loaf for an extra amount of time because the dough was so wet. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I really like this recipe, and have made it several times now. It works well with all sorts of apples, including mushy ones. It is terrific for using up apples that my family won’t eat as hand fruit. Some reviewers have complained that the dough is too dry. I find that much of the moisture in the recipe comes from the juice of the apples. The overall moisture level of the dough will depend on how juicy the apples are, how small the apple chunks are and how long you stir them in the sugar and oil. The more you stir, the more moisture is drawn out. The recipe still comes out fine, even if the dough is very stiff. If you are looking for a fine-grained bread like a banana nut bread or zucchini bread, cut the apples to 1/8 to ¼ inch cubes, and coarsely chop the cranberries. I pulsed them briefly in a food processor. (I only recommend chopping the cranberries if they are fresh and firm.) The dough will be moist and pourable if you go this route. If you want something with big, moist chunks, leave the cranberries whole and cut the apples to ¼ to ½ inch cubes. In this case, the dough will be stiff and you will have to spoon it into the pan. I usually double the recipe, so that I can use an entire bag of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swimmy44
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just made this and took it out of the oven. Noticed right away no liquid was listed in the recipe and I added 1/2 cup of orange juice since 3/4 cup is called for in the standard cranberry bread recipe which has more sugar and flour and no apples. It looks good, a little brown as it took a while to bake through since it is very moist. I made a small one with excess batter and will use a 9x11 pan next time - the moistness of the recipe makes it slow to bake through in my convection oven without browning on top too much. Anyway, it's tastes delish but 3 stars only because of the error in the recipe! Tried to add a photo but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved it! I poured the apple mixture into the flour and it started looking wierd and crumbled. So I quickly stopped and poured the flour into the apples (like the recipe says too) little by little. This made it gooey and thicker sugur liquid to paste. Instead of using veggie oil I used extra vergin olive oil. I also doubled the cinnamon (to flour mixture) and added a splash of vanilla extract (to the apple mixture), and a splash of milk (mixed together)before adding the fresh (not frozen) cranberries and nuts. Cooked the full 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I would probably reduce the sugar a little the next time I make it. I had no trouble with dryness, I suspect the others did not chop their apple finely enough. Great way to use leftover cranberries and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is one of our favorite quickbreads. Always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
There was not enough liquid to hold it together. I added milk the first time but I think I am going to add apple juice the next time. It tasted wonderful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This bread smells and looks wonderful. I did not have any apples because I had just made homemade chunky applesauce the other day, so instead of chopped apples, I used 2 cups of the apples sauce. It turned out wonderfully!!! The mix of the tartness from the cranberries and the sweetness of the apples are a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States